> Skip to content

Popular Society & Culture books (4324)

  • 100 tales of extraordinary women - the most highly supported original book ever in the history of crowdfunding.

  • When we stand alone, we find ourselves. This is a book about true belonging, not fitting in, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Rising Strong.

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • Spellbinding and heartbreaking, Leila's Secret shows us everyday life for women in a country where it can be a crime to fall in love. But for all its tragedy, this unforgettable book is paradoxically uplifting, told from the heart of Kooshyar's immense sympathy, in the hope that each of us – and the stories we tell – can make a difference.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Pablo Escobar’s son reveals the real man behind the leader of the Medellín cartel's legend in this international bestselling, deeply personal memoir.

  • Why are some people and organisations more inventive, pioneering and successful than others?And why are they able to repeat their success again and again?

  • What if the power to hurt were in women's hands?

  • A provocative and inspiring work on overcoming the obstacles facing women on the path to leadership

  • The eminent psychologist and Holocaust survivor guides us through a universal journey of redemption and healing, after her experiences in Auschwitz

  • Expecting skinheads, John Safran rocked up to a far-right rally in Melbourne. What he found led him into the mad world of misfits who helped propel the second coming of Pauline Hanson and foreshadowed the era of Trump.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • One of the key Rider backlist titles, specially chosen for the Rider 100 promotion

  • The sensational account of the overwhelming role of drug-taking in the Third Reich - from Hitler and his entourage to ordinary troops.

  • The former global sports editor of The Wall Street Journal profiles the greatest teams in history and identifies the counterintuitive leadership qualities of the unconventional men and women who drove them to succeed.

  • The cruiser HMAS Australia II and the Pacific War on Japan

  • An award-winning journalist reveals the secrets of why you do what you do - and how to change

  • After eighteen years in the political wilderness, Pauline Hanson is back and more powerful than ever. Please Explain is a compelling, intimate look at how an Ipswich fish and chip shop lady changed the nation – and how she speaks directly to Australian society and our multicultural identity today.

  • From Facebook's COO and Wharton’s top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building resilience and moving forward after life’s inevitable setbacks.

  • A new Penguin Special on the problems of the world and how to prepare for tomorrow - from the greatest public intellectual of our times.

Browse more