> Skip to content

Featured

Anything Is Possible Elizabeth Strout

A novel in stories by the No. 1 New York Times bestselling and Man Booker long-listed author of Olive Kitteridge and My Name is Lucy Barton.

Read More

The 7th Function of Language Laurent Binet

An electrifying global conspiracy-thriller from the internationally bestselling author of HHhH.

Read More

Men Without Women Haruki Murakami

A dazzling new collection of short stories - the internationally bestselling author's first collection for over a decade.

Read More

Recommended

Anything Is Possible
New Boy
The 7th Function of Language
Men Without Women
Autumn
Nutshell
Hag-Seed
Homegoing
My Name Is Lucy Barton
Swing Time

Vintage Woolf

Leap into the panoramic worlds of Virginia Woolf.

A Rough Guide: Ian McEwan

Explore the affecting, inimitable, unforgettable stories of this remarkable author.

Louis de Bernières: a Brilliant Career

Six of the best from a master craftsman.

Book Clubs
Music and Freedom Reading Notes

A debut novel to savour: Zoë Morrison’s Music and Freedom.

Book Clubs
The Toymaker Reading Notes

Liam Pieper’s The Toymaker: a gripping book club selection.

Popular Literary Fiction books (29)

  • From the first thrill of lust, to the joys and fears of real commitment, to the deep problems that surface slowly over two shared lifetimes, this is the story of a marriage. It is the story of modern relationships and how to survive them. Playful, wise and profoundly moving, The Course of Love is a delightful return to the novel by Alain de Botton, twenty years after his debut Essays in Love.

  • Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2014. A novel of the cruelty of war, tenuousness of life and the impossibility of love.

  • Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

  • Confronting the enduring question of what it means to be human, Here I Am is a great American novel for our times, a masterpiece about how we live now.

  • Dazzlingly energetic and deeply human, Swing Time is a story about friendship and music and true identity, how they shape us and how we can survive them. Moving from north-west London to West Africa, it is an exuberant dance to the music of time.

  • Tim Winton's heart-stopping, exhilarating Eyrie asks how, in an impossibly compromised world, we can ever hope to do the right thing.

  • Winner of the Miles Franklin Award and recognised as one of the greatest works of Australian literature, Cloudstreet is Tim Winton's sprawling, comic epic about luck and love, fortitude and forgiveness, and the magic of the everyday.

  • A compelling novel about art and power, courage and cowardice from the Booker-winning author of The Sense of An Ending

  • A classic tale of murder and deceit from one of the world’s master storytellers – ‘a masterpiece’ The Times

  • Bold, dark and compelling, The Toymaker is a novel about privilege, fear and the great harm we can do when we are afraid of losing what we hold dear.

  • California. The summer of 1969. In the dying days of a floundering counter-culture a young girl is unwittingly caught up in unthinkable violence, and a decision made at this moment, on the cusp of adulthood, will shape her life....

  • A courageous and powerful novel about faith, the church, conscience and celibacy.

  • The heartbreaking new novel from the bestselling author of The Road Home: a story of betrayal, the struggle for happiness and the healing power of friendship

  • Autumn is part of the quartet Seasonal: four stand-alone novels, separate yet interconnected and cyclical (as the seasons are), exploring what time is, how we experience it, and the recurring markers in the shapes our lives take and in our ways with narrative.

  • A captivating and hilarious novel of family, loss, and the curse of a violent America, Heroes of the Frontier is a powerful examination of contemporary life and a rousing story of adventure.

  • A First World War novel of love, peace, violence and Antarctica

  • A powerfully tense tale of domestic tyranny set against the wild open spaces of the American West - another rediscovered classic from the publishers of Stoner

  • Thirteen-year-old David is confused and staying in Bondi with his grandparents. His mum seems to have abandoned him to run off with her lover, and his grandfather, Jimmy, spends his days at the local RSL grumbling with his best mates, all of them Jewish survivors of the Thai–Burma Railway.

  • This is an ambitious, powerful novel from one of the most important writers of our time

  • Haruki Murakami’s first two novels, available for the first time in English outside Japan. With a new introduction by the author.

  • Shortlisted for the NSW Premier's Literary Awards and longlisted for the 2016 Stella Prize. 'A Guide to Berlin' is the name of a short story written by Vladimir Nabokov in 1925, when he was a young man of 26, living in Berlin.

  • John 'Nashville' Grant is an American military policeman in the R&R town of Vung Tau, tucked safely behind the front lines of the Vietnam War. Nashville knows how everything works: the army, the enemy, bars, secrets, men and women.

  • From the author of the bestselling, Booker-shortlisted A Fraction of the Whole.

Browse more