> Skip to content

Featured

Becoming Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States.

Read More

Popular Biography & Memoir books (5937)

  • An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States.

  • The day that turns a life upside down usually starts like any other, but what happens the day after? Dual Walkley Award-winner Leigh Sales investigates how ordinary people endure the unthinkable.

  • 100 tales of extraordinary women - the most highly supported original book ever in the history of crowdfunding.

  • An extraordinary memoir about a woman's discovery of education, its transformative power and the price she has to pay for it.

  • On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then sat on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of The Tall Man, is the story of that man, the fire he lit, and the people who were killed.

  • The long-awaited memoir of Australia’s sweetheart, Olivia Newton-John, covering everything from Grease to her journeys with cancer to her tireless charity work.

  • To pay Mrs Twit back for the worms in his spaghetti, Mr Twit thought up a really clever nasty trick.

  • Matilda Wormwood's father thinks she's a little scab. Matilda's mother spends all afternoon playing bingo. And Matilda's headmistress Miss Trunchbull?

  • On a dark, silvery moonlit night, Sophie is snatched from her bed by a giant. Luckily it is the Big Friendly Giant, the BFG, who only eats snozzcumbers and glugs frobscottle. But there are other giants in Giant Country. Fifty foot brutes who gallop far and wide every night to find human beans to eat. Can Sophie and her friend the BFG stop them?

  • The story of Jelena Dokic, in her words

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • The rule would be this: Whatever he saw, if it was runny or powdery or gooey, in it went.

  • Accompanying a new BBC series, legendary comic and national treasure Billy Connolly returns to his roots, reflecting on his life, his homeland and what it means – then and now – to be Scottish.

  • This is not your standard white-girl-in-Africa tale. I fed no babies, I built no schools, I saved no rhinos. Self-discovery came a distant second to self-preservation on this particular adventure.

  • A handsome gift edition of one of the seminal pieces of literature to emerge from the Second World War: Viktor Frankl's moving account of his experiences in Auschwitz. With new introduction and appendices.

  • On Air is Mike Carlton's story, no holds barred.

  • Corruption, dirty politics and murder in Russia - told by one of Putin's Most Wanted.

  • A memoir in a hundred songs – classy storytelling from Australia's most prodigious singer-songwriter.

  • Beware. Real witches dress in ordinary clothes and look like ordinary women. But they are not ordinary. They are always plotting and scheming with murderous, bloodthirsty thoughts - and they hate children.

  • The riveting autobiography from Australia’s inimitable Geoffrey Robertson. Funny, personal, and bringing Robertson's fascinating and colourful career up to date following The Justice Game.

  • I'm strong. I can be tough. I've been broken. I'm opinionated. I'm a people-pleaser. I'm spoilt. I'm needy. I contradict myself. I try to do good. I want to do good. I'm impassioned. I'm observant. Most importantly, I tell the truth. And this is my story.

  • A magnificently fresh and unexpected biography of The Greatest Briton, by one of Britain's best-selling historians.

Browse more