> Skip to content

News  •  22 February 2022

 

CBCA Book Award Notables 2022

Fourteen Penguin and Puffin books have been selected for the CBCA Book Awards Notables list.

Congratulations to all the Penguin and Puffin authors and illustrators who have made it onto the list of CBCA Notables this year.

Established in 1945, the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not-for-profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature. 

The 2022 CBCA Book Awards shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 29 March, and the winners and honours will be announced on Friday 19 August.

 

Book of the Year: Older Readers

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

This New York Times bestseller follows the eerie tale of Iris Hollow and her two sisters as they seek to discover what really happened on the night they went missing and returned with white hair and black eyes. A thriller-horror not for the faint of heart!

WATCH THE TRAILERREAD AN EXTRACTTHE UNSOLVED MYSTERIES THAT INSPIRED HOUSE OF HOLLOWQ&A WITH KRYSTAL SUTHERLANDTEACHERS’ NOTES

 

The Midnight Girls by Alicia Jasinska

In a snow-cloaked kingdom, two wicked rivals secretly compete for the pure heart of a prince, only to discover they might be falling for each other instead. Now is a time for mischief and revelry.

READ AN EXTRACTTOP 10 QUEER YA BOOKS OF 2021

 

The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni

From Australia’s #1 bestselling YA author comes a dark and thrilling new YA fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir. Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last decade fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov. When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva takes her place in the Trial by Ordeal to fight for both their freedom.

WATCH THE TRAILERREAD AN EXTRACTTHE PRISON HEALER TRILOGY

 

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Always by Morris Gleitzman

The much-anticipated final journey in the story of Felix, hero of Morris Gleitzman’s multi-award-winning Once, Then, After, Soon, Maybe and Now.

WATCH THE TRAILERTEACHERS’ NOTESTHE FELIX COLLECTION

 

A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

An exquisite, heartbreakingly beautiful gem of a novel for anyone who loved Wonder. Meixing Lim and her family have moved to the New House in the New Land, and as their fragile universe is rocked with tragedy, Meixing will need all her resilience and imagination to survive.

WATCH THE TRAILERREAD AN EXTRACTBOOK CLUB NOTES Q&A WITH SHIRLEY MARRTEACHERS’ NOTES

 

Listen, Layla by Yassmin Abdel-Magied

What’s a queen to do when her summer plans go horribly wrong? A powerful, funny and timely novel for young readers by writer, broadcaster and award-winning social advocate, Yassmin Abdel-Magied.

READ AN EXTRACTBOOK CLUB NOTES

 

Little Gem by Anna Zobel

When her spell at Witchcraft School goes wrong, Gem lands in an unfamiliar, empty cottage outside a strange, colourful down. Everyone in Ellsworth Pining thinks Gem is their new village witch. Gem might know a spell that can help them – if only she could get it right.

Q&A WITH ANNA ZOBELCOLOURING PAGES5 REASONS WE LOVE LITTLE GEMHOW TO DRAW LITTLE GEM

 

The Right Way to Rock by Nat Amoore

The rockin’ story of two new friends, one arts fiasco and a whole lot of music from the bestselling author of Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire and The Power of Positive Pranking.

READ AN EXTRACT

 

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Train Party by Karen Blair

All aboard the train party! This delightful rhyming picture book captures all the fun of a preschooler’s train-themed birthday party at a miniature railway park.

TEACHERS’ NOTES

 

Picture Book of the Year

Bear and Rat by Christopher Cheng and Stephen Michael King

A powerful and uplifting story about a loving friendship, even through the hardest of times.

TEACHERS’ NOTESWATCH THE READ ALOUD VIDEOMEET THE CREATORS

 

Blue Flower by Sonya Hartnett and Gabriel Evans

A beautifully told picture book about self-esteem, resilience and the discovery that being different can be something wonderful.

TEACHERS’ NOTESCOLOURING PAGEMEET THE CREATORS

 

Don’t Forget by Jane Godwin and Anna Zobel

Sometimes, we need to remember all the things we can do to be part of the world. Small things, like offering a smile. And bigger things, like hoping, dreaming and imagining.

TEACHERS’ NOTESWATCH THE READ ALOUD VIDEOMEET THE CREATORS

 

Frankie and the Fossil by Jess McGeachin

Frankie knows everything there is to know about dinosaurs. But when she ignores a sign at the museum and is followed home by a friendly fossil, Frankie finds there’s more to dinosaurs than she ever imagined.

WATCH THE TRAILERACTIVITY PACK

 

Eve Pownall Award

Masters of Disguise by Marc Martin

A gorgeous hide-and-seek extravaganza that showcases twelve of the most elusive animals on earth that use camouflage to disguise themselves.

ACTIVITY PACK

Featured Titles

House of Hollow
A New York Times Bestseller! An Instant Indie Bestseller! 'This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader – a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world-building, and some of the finest writing I’ve seen in YA fiction. I’ll put it like this – I am obsessed with House of Hollow.’ Louise O'Neill, author of Printz Honor Book, Asking For It
Read more
The Midnight Girls
In a snow-cloaked kingdom, two wicked rivals secretly compete for the pure heart of a prince, only to discover they might be falling for each other.
Read more
The Prison Healer
'Lynette Noni is a masterful storyteller. A must-read for any fantasy lover!' SARAH J. MAAS, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author
Read more
Always

The much-anticipated final journey in the story of Felix, hero of Morris Gleitzman's multi-award-winning Once, Then, After, Soon, Maybe and Now.

Read more
A Glasshouse of Stars

Winner of the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year - Younger Readers 2022

An exquisite, heartbreakingly beautiful gem of a novel for anyone who loved Wonder, Lenny's Book of Everything, A Monster Calls or When You Reach Me.

Read more
Listen, Layla
What's a queen to do when her summer plans go horribly wrong? A powerful, funny and timely novel for young readers by writer, broadcaster and award-winning social advocate, Yassmin Abdel-Magied.
Read more
Little Gem
An adorable and charming new children's series that is a sparkling gem of a read for anyone who loves Polly and Buster or Mummy Fairy and Me!
Read more
The Right Way to Rock
The rockin' story of two new friends, one arts fiasco and a whole lot of music.
Read more
Train Party
All aboard the train party! This delightful rhyming picture book captures all the fun of a preschooler’s train-themed birthday party at a miniature railway park.
Read more
Bear and Rat
A powerful and uplifting story about loving friendship, even through the hardest of times.
Read more
Blue Flower
A beautifully told picture book about self-esteem, resilience and the discovery that being different can be something wonderful. From award-winning author Sonya Hartnett, with stunning illustrations by Gabriel Evans.
Read more
Don't Forget
A timely and uplifting picture book for 5+, reflecting on what’s important for each of us to remember, from the creative team that brought us All Through the Year and Today We Have No Plans.
Read more
Frankie and the Fossil
A sweet and funny picture book for anyone who loves dinosaur fossils, friends and cheese sandwiches, by the acclaimed creator of Fly and The Lost Library.
Read more
Masters of Disguise
A gorgeous hide-and-seek extravaganza that showcases twelve of the most elusive animals on earth that use camouflage to disguise themselves. A timely and beautiful non-fiction book for nature lovers of every stripe.
Read more

More features

See all
News
A Glasshouse of Stars Wins CBCA Book of the Year – Younger Readers 2022

Shirley Marr's children's novel has just won the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year award 2022.

News
2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

News
Indie Book Awards 2022 shortlist revealed

We're excited to announce four of our authors have made it to the shortlist.

News
Indie Book Awards 2022 longlist announced

Congratulations to our five authors who have been longlisted for the awards.

News
2023 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners will be announced on 25 May 2023.

Article
QUIZ: Which Prison Healer character are you?

Find out which character you are from The Prison Healer series by Lynette Noni with this fun quiz.

Article
Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2022

Discover the best Penguin Random House books of 2022 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

Article
5 books Tobias Madden thinks you should read

Book recommendations from author Tobias Madden for every type of reader.

Article
7 of the best chapter books for ages 6-9

Seven amazing chapter books for children ages 6-9.

Activity
Penguin Teen Christmas Bingo

Join the Penguin Teen read-a-thon this summer.

Article
Australia’s Top 10 Books for Kids in 2021

The most popular books of the year, written by Australian authors.

Looking for more news?

See all news