> Skip to content

Article  •  4 June 2021

 

Top 10 Queer YA Books of 2021

Read the rainbow with new stories from Becky Albertalli, Tobias Madden, Krystal Sutherland, Alicia Jasinska and more.

ANYTHING BUT FINE
Tobias Madden

Luca is ready to audition for the Australian Ballet School. All it takes to crush his dreams is one missed step . . . and a broken foot. Jordan is the gorgeous rowing star and school captain of Luca's new school. Everyone says he's straight - but Luca’s not so sure . . . As their unlikely bond grows stronger, Luca starts to wonder: who is he without ballet? And is he setting himself up for another heartbreak? Out September.

M/M ROMANCE • BALLET • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

HOUSE OF HOLLOW
Krystal Sutherland

House of Hollow is a dark and twisty modern-day fairy tale following three intoxicatingly beautiful sisters on their quest to discover the truth behind their disappearance ten years ago. Krystal Sutherland weaves a story full of intrigue and beauty, and effortlessly includes LGBTQ+ characters into the fold – this is not one to miss! Out now.

BI LEAD • THRILLER • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

MALICE
Heather Walter

A magical, queer retelling of Sleeping Beauty where the princess falls in love with the evil sorceress? Um, yes please! Malice is a dark and wicked retelling of a well-known story, one that’s supposed to have a happy ending . . . Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Marissa Meyer. Out now.

F/F ROMANCE • FANTASY • FAIRYTALE RETELLING

 

KATE IN WAITING
Becky Albertalli

When Kate and Andy’s latest crush shows up at their school, everything goes off script. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Andy. From the bestselling author of Love, Simon, Kate in Waiting is the wholesome love triangle, theatre obsessed high-school story we’ve all been waiting for. Out now.

QUEER LOVE TRIANGLE • MUSICAL THEATRE

 

WE CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS
Edited by Amelia Abraham

Thirty-five extraordinary LGBTQ+ voices share their stories and visions for the future in this poignant collection of essays. Through deeply moving stories and provocative new arguments on safety and visibility, dating and gender, care and community, they map new global frontiers in the fight for LGBTQ+ rights. Out now.

NON-FICTION • ESSAYS

 

THE PASSING PLAYBOOK
Isaac Fitzsimons

This is the trans YA queer romance that we’ve been dreaming of! Meet Spencer: a proud nerd, an awesome big brother and football obsessed. He’s also transgender. With a fresh start at a new school, Spencer seems to have it all. Love, Simon meets Friday Night Lights in this feel-good romance! Out August.

TRANS LEAD • M/M ROMANCE

 

THE MIDNIGHT GIRLS
Alicia Jasinska

Picture this: you’re secretly competing for the heart of a handsome prince when you realise you are quickly falling for the other enchantress who is also competing for the same prince . . . This is the premise of Alicia Jasinska’s new YA fantasy The Midnight Girls. Releasing in December, this book is perfect for fans of The Wicked Deep, House of Salt and Sorrow and Three Dark Crowns. Out December.

F/F ROMANCE • FANTASY • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

OFF THE RECORD
Camryn Garrett

Full of life and heart, Off the Record is a bold and important story of fame, justice and freedom of speech. Seventeen-year-old Josie is working as a journalist when a story she uncovers threatens to explode. Does Josie tell the truth or sacrifice her morals to hide it? This is the book to read if you love Angie Thomas’s On the Come Up. Out August.

BI LEAD SOCIAL JUSTICE

 

NEVER KISS YOUR ROOMMATE
Philline Harms

A private school setting, a gossip blog (hello Gossip Girl vibes!) and a secret romance – what more could you want?! But will the big secrets revealed result in happily never afters? This queer romcom will set hearts pounding as it follows two best friends navigating the halls of Seven Hills Academy. Out September.

F/F ROMANCE • BOARDING SCHOOL

 

THE GIRL AND THE GODDESS  
Nikita Gill

This gorgeous book of prose follows Paro from childhood to young adulthood as she is visited by gods and goddesses throughout her life. These divine beings help Paro handle family politics, cultural trauma and her budding sexuality. Interspersed with phenomenal illustrations, this is a magical coming-of-age story drawing on feminine power, Indian mythology and healing. Out now.

BI LEAD • LGBTQ+ REPS • HINDU MYTHOLOGY


Anything But Fine Tobias Madden

A heartfelt and hilarious Australian YA debut from a rising star.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
Trending on BookTok: Fantasy Edition

The most popular fantasy books on TikTok right now.

Article
The Unsolved Mysteries that Inspired House of Hollow

Author Krystal Sutherland shares her favourite stories.

Article
The Most Anticipated YA Books of 2021

New stories from bestselling authors Lynette Noni, Becky Albertali, Karen M. McManus, Rick Riordan, and more.

Article
The best new books for high school students

Keep the classroom engaged with these new books for teens.

Article
What you should read next based on your fave Netflix shows

Done binging the latest TV sensation? Pick up a book and keep the good times rolling. 

News
Superproofs are here!

In stores July 2021, until stocks run out.

Q&A
Krystal Sutherland Q&A

House of Hollow author on ghost doors, googling corpses and advice to aspiring YA authors.

News
PRH acquires new series from bestselling Australian author Lynette Noni

Penguin Random House Australia has acquired Australian and New Zealand rights to Lynette Noni’s new series, The Prison Healer.

Article
The 2021 Booker Prize shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2021 Booker Prize has been announced, with four Penguin Random House novels named.

Article
'Utterly broken': The Resilience Project co-founder’s powerful admission

Hugh van Cuylenburg was being interviewed on a national radio station when he surprised himself with an admission.

Article
The song behind The What On Earth Institute of Wonder, by Lisa Nicol

Light-emitting Mushrooms and the High Priestess of Soul; The song behind The What On Earth Institute of Wonder.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles