> Skip to content

Sonya Hartnett's work has won numerous Australian and international literary prizes and has been published around the world. Uniquely, she is acclaimed for her stories for adults, young adults and children. Her accolades include the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Of A Boy), The Age Book of the Year (Of A Boy), the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize (Thursday's Child), the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year for both Older and Younger Readers (Forest, The Silver Donkey, The Ghost's Child, The Midnight Zoo and The Children of the King), the Victorian Premier's Literary Award (Surrender), shortlistings for the Miles Franklin Award (for both Of a Boy and Butterfly) and the CILP Carnegie Medal (The Midnight Zoo). Hartnett is also the first Australian recipient of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (2008).

Golden Boys, Sonya’s third novel for adults, was shortlisted for the 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award and she also published her third picture book, The Wild One in 2014.

Books by Sonya Hartnett

The Wild One
Golden Boys
The Boy and The Toy
Life in Ten Houses: Penguin Special
Children of the King
Come Down, Cat!
The Midnight Zoo
Surrender: Popular Penguins
Of a Boy: Popular Penguins
Ghost's Child
The Silver Donkey
Stripes of the Sidestep Wolf
Of a Boy
Thursday's Child
All My Dangerous Friends
The Devil Latch
Sleeping Dogs
Black Foxes
Wilful Blue