> Skip to content
CN

CATHERINE NEWMAN

Book for an event


Catherine Newman is an award-winning writer and columnist. She is the author of the memoirs Catastrophic Happiness and Waiting for Birdy, and the children's books One Mixed-Up Night, Stitch Camp, How to Be a Person and What Can I Say?. She edits the non-profit kids' cooking magazine ChopChop, writes the etiquette column for Real Simple magazine, and is a regular contributor to the New York Times, The Washington Post, O The Oprah Magazine, The Boston Globe, and many other publications. We All Want Impossible Things is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Amherst, Massachusetts, with her family.

Books by CATHERINE NEWMAN

Sandwich

One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...? From the author of We All Want Impossible Things, a raucously funny novel with an unexpected punch about being 'sandwiched' between growing children and ageing parents and the power of change.

Read more
We All Want Impossible Things

'One of my favourite books ever' Marian Keyes; 'Dazzling' Rachel Joyce; 'You'll devour every word' Katherine Heiny; for fans of Nora Ephron and Sorrow and Bliss, a heart-wrenching, laugh-out-loud celebration of friendship at its imperfect and radiant best.

Read more

More features

Article
Books recommended by Marian Keyes

If you love Marian Keyes, you might also enjoy these books. See the titles she’s praised publicly and get ready to add them to your ‘must read’ list.

Article
How 7 designers created the most beautiful book covers of 2022

We talked to some of our graphic designers to learn more about the amazing book covers they created this year. Find out what runs through the mind of a designer as they bring a book to life through design.

Article
Sicilian Lemon Polenta Pound Cake

A delicious sweet treat that pairs perfectly with the book it was inspired by – straight from the author's kitchen.