> Skip to content

Richard Flanagan was born in Tasmania in 1961. His novels Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould’s Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting and The Narrow Road to the Deep North have received numerous honours and are published in 42 countries. He won the Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North in 2014.

Books by Richard Flanagan

The Narrow Road to the Deep North
First Person
Notes on an Exodus
The Australian Disease: On the Decline of Love and the Rise of Non-Freedom: Short Black 1
The Great Australian Writers' Collection 2013
Out of a Wild Sea
Out of a Wild Sea (Storycuts)
The Sound Of One Hand Clapping
Gould's Book Of Fish
Death Of A River Guide
The Unknown Terrorist
And What Do You Do, Mr Gable?
'Nothing could have prepared us for this immense achievement... The Narrow Road to the Deep North is beyond comparison... Intensely moving... Wilfred Owen wrote of his Great War verse: “My subject is war, and the pity of war. The poetry is in the pity.” Flanagan's triumph is to find poetry without any pity at all.'  Geordie Williamson, The Australian