> Skip to content

News  •  21 March 2024

 

2024 ABIAs shortlist announced

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted for the ABIAs in 2024. The winners will be announced on 9 May 2024.

The 2024 shortlist for the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has just been announced, and we’re thrilled to share that Penguin Random House Australia has nine books in the running this year.

Keep reading to learn about each book and which awards they have been nominated for.

2024 ABIAs shortlisted books

Biography Book of the Year

Wifedom book cover.

Wifedom by Anna Funder

‘Simply, a masterpiece. Here, Anna Funder not only re-makes the art of biography, she resurrects a woman in full. And this in a narrative that grips the reader and unfolds through some of the most consequential moments - historical and cultural - of the twentieth century.’ – Geraldine Brooks

Book of the Year for Older Children (Ages 13+)

Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer book cover.

Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer by Amy Doak

‘Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer is a tense page-turner that invites readers to sort clues and question everything around them. It’s also a book for young readers who, though clever and determined, are nonetheless facing the everyday misgivings of adolescent life. Doak has written an ode to the strength of women, believing in yourself and finally finding your people. This is a book for young feminist readers who love a mystery solved by a strong heroine.’ – Danielle Bagnato, Books + Publishing

Children’s Picture Book of the Year (Ages 0-6)

A Life Song book cover.

A Life Song by Jane Godwin and Anna Walker

‘A sensitive and thoughtful picture book, A Life Song gives the reader time for reflection and to engage with the charming metaphor of a unique song.’ – Susanne Gervay, Reading Time

General Fiction Book of the Year

Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect

Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect by Benjamin Stevenson

‘I absolutely loved it. Utterly original, hugely entertaining, and a must-read for every fan of the mystery genre. What an exceptionally fresh, smart, funny book - I've never read anything like this before.’ – Jane Harper

General Non-Fiction Book of the Year

It's The Menopause book cover.

It’s the Menopause by Kaz Cooke

‘Some of the more fun Committee reading . . . thanks to the witty observations of Kaz Cooke.’ – Senator Marielle Smith

Question 7 book cover.

Question 7 by Richard Flanagan

‘Richard Flanagan’s Question 7 is a profoundly moving love song for the writer’s parents, a forensic excavation, a lament, a confession, a jig-saw puzzle in which Hiroshima connects to HG Wells, and the Martians colonise Tasmania. We are all competitive, of course, so this is not an easy thing to say: but Question 7 may just be the most significant work of Australian art in the last 100 years.’ – Peter Carey

Illustrated Book of the Year

The Year I Met My Brain book cover.

The Year I Met My Brain by Matilda Boseley

‘Forget all the myths you’ve heard about ADHD. This illuminating book is easy to read, backed by facts and packed with fun. It’s essential reading for anyone with ADHD and those who love them. A triumph!’ – Gabrielle Jackson

International book of the year

Spare book cover

Spare by Prince Harry, The Duke of Sussex

‘Above all, Spare is worth reading for its potential historical import, which is likely to resonate, if not to the crack of doom, then well into the reign of King Charles III, and even into that of his successor.’ – Rebecca Mead, The New Yorker

Social Impact Book of the Year

Wifedom book cover.

Wifedom by Anna Funder

Wifedom is a damning catalogue of the ways women are diminished, ignored, trivialised and banished to the footnotes . . . a masterclass in erasure.’ – The Age

The Year I Met My Brain book cover.

The Year I Met My Brain by Matilda Boseley

‘Rarely does a book emerge that instantly promises to profoundly impact the lives of its readers – but Matilda Boseley’s debut work is one such remarkable creation. With unparalleled insight, Boseley has crafted an invaluable and comprehensive guide, not only unravelling the complexities of ADHD but also illuminating the path to navigating a world that often misunderstands neurodivergence. Written with a truly enjoyable blend of humour, warmth and emotional resonance, this vulnerable account seamlessly integrates exceptional research on neurodivergence, offering a profound understanding of ADHD and demonstrating why such an understanding is so important today.’ – Esmé Lousie James

The Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year

Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder book cover.

Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder by Kerryn Mayne

'With Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder, Kerryn Mayne makes a very grand entrance into the Australian literary scene. With humour, heart and characters you come to love, this is a book you will devour now, and keep thinking about later!' – Sally Hepworth

Featured Titles

Wifedom

A blazing, genre-bending masterpiece from one of the most inventive writers of our time.

Read more
Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer
Karen McManus and Holly Jackson meets Fleur Ferris in this fast-paced YA murder mystery.
Read more
A Life Song
From the award-winning team that created classics such as Don’t Forget, All Through the Year, Tilly and Starting School, comes an exquisite, universal and captivating picture book that carries us through a child's life journey on the magical metaphor of song.
Read more
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect
The eagerly awaited follow-up to the international bestseller EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE - another deliciously witty locked room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz.
Read more
It's The Menopause
It’s the menopause.
Read more
Question 7
Beginning at a love hotel by Japan’s Inland Sea and ending by a river in Tasmania, Question 7 is about the choices we make about love and the chain reaction that follows.
Read more
The Year I Met My Brain
An essential and empowering guide for any adult living with ADHD – compassionate, funny and full of practical tips. Shortlisted: Australian Book Industry Awards (Social Impact Book of the Year) Shortlisted: Australian Book Industry Awards (Illustrated Book of the Year) Longlisted: Indie Book Awards 2024 (Illustrated Non-fiction)
Read more
Spare
The extraordinary and unflinching memoir from Prince Harry, The Duke of Sussex.
Read more
Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder
Kerryn Mayne’s stunning debut is an irresistible novel that’s both chilling and charming, suspenseful and uplifting. And, of course, simply unforgettable…
Read more

More features

See all
News
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

Q&A
A day in the life of Senior Designer, Olivia Mead

Learn what a day in the life of a senior designer at Penguin Random House looks like.

Article
CBCA Book of the Year Notables 2024

5 Penguin books have made the Notables list this year. Learn more about them here.

Article
What to read this International Women’s Day – as recommended by authors

In honour of International Women’s Day, we asked some of our inspiring women authors to share the books they love.

Book clubs
Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer Book Club Questions

Amy Doak on the creation of Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer.

Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
QUIZ: Which book should you read this summer?

Take this quiz to discover what your summer read should be in 2023.

Article
The 10 bestselling non-fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling non-fiction books this year.

Article
Debut authors share their best tips for aspiring authors

The Fresh Voices of 2023 share their advice with fellow writers. Whether you’re aspiring to get your book published or looking for writing tips, these words of wisdom will help.

Article
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Article
Look inside A Life Song

Sneak a peek inside the new book from the dynamic duo Jane Godwin and Anna Walker.

Looking for more news?

See all news