> Skip to content

Article  •  20 December 2023

 

The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Book lovers will always appreciate receiving a book for Christmas. But what could be better than one book, you might ask? Well, two books, of course!

If you want to give a gift that’s a touch more special this year, you can’t go wrong with a book duo. Not only will your loved one adore reading each of the two books, but the combination of the two will provoke deeper thoughts and understanding.

If you’re at a loss for which books would make a perfect pair, fear not. We’ve compiled a list of duos that make for delightful gift-giving (and receiving).

Best book duos to gift for Christmas

The Year of the Locust and I Am Pilgrim next to each other on a bookshelf.

The Year of the Locust and I Am Pilgrim

Terry Hayes’ gripping thriller, I Am Pilgrim, took the world by storm ten years ago. After much anticipation, the follow-up, The Year of the Locust, is here! Any crime and thriller reader would be overjoyed to receive these page-turners by the internationally bestselling author. Cinematic, complex and undeniably exciting, these two books offer the perfect escape.

Read a snippet of The Year of the Locust >

 

A photo of Ghosts and Good Material side-by-side.

Ghosts and Good Material

If you know someone who loves contemporary fiction, this pair by Dolly Alderton belongs on your shopping list. With her signature wit and humour, Alderton explores the complexity of modern relationships in both books while telling two very different stories. Ghosts follows a food writer in her early thirties as she navigates love in this new stage of life. Good Material, on the other hand, follows Andy, who finds himself unexpectedly single, only to feel lost and confused about where exactly everything went wrong.

Read a snippet of Good Material >

 

Shakespeare by Judi Dench on a blanket-covered chair next to Hamlet.

Shakespeare: The Man Who Pays The Rent and Hamlet

Theatre nerds, rejoice! Fans of Dame Judi Dench will be filled with joy as they unwrap this combo of Dench’s new book about her career as a Shakespearean actor alongside one of the playwright's iconic plays: Hamlet.

In Shakespeare: The Man Who Pays the Rent, Dench reveals the secrets of some of her most notable performances. Her theatrical debut was playing Ophelia in Hamlet at the Old Vic, so it only makes sense to pair the two books together.

Read a snippet of Shakespeare: The Man who Pays The Rent >

 

Question 7 and Wifedom

Gift some of the best Australian literature of 2023 with this duo of books by Anna Funder and Richard Flanagan. Both works are unlike anything you’ve ever read – unique in subject matter and genre. While both books are non-fiction, the mesmerising prose in each will transport you to different worlds – whether to a river in Tasmania or into the home of George Orwell and his first wife, Eileen O’Shaughnessy. Aesthetically, the books’ similar colour palettes and eye-catching covers will look fantastic on any book lover’s shelf.

Read a snippet of Wifedom >Read a snippet of Question 7 >

 

Everyone On This Train Is a Suspect next to Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone on a blanket-covered chair.

Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect and Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone

Bring a bit of fun to Christmas with these unputdownable murder mysteries by Australian author and comedian Benjamin Stevenson. Both books find Ernest Cunningham in impossible situations, becoming accidentally involved in whacky whodunnits. Unfortunately for Ernest, he seems to be surrounded by suspect characters who could all feasibly get away with committing crimes. Described as ‘Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle meet Knives Out and The Thursday Murder Club’, Stevenson's books are the perfect blend of classical mystery and modern humour.

Read a snippet of Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect >

 

Baking Yesteryear and The Sugar Palace

If you know someone with a sweet tooth, these are the books for them. The Sugar Palace is a historical fiction novel set in 1920s Sydney. The protagonist, Grace, dreams of opening a sweetshop – but will her romance with a roguish Londoner jeopardise her business plans?

Readers will find their mouths watering at Fiona McIntosh’s descriptions of candy apples and homemade lollies, so what better follow-up than Baking Yesteryear? Featuring whacky recipes from decades past, this fun cookbook by B. Dylan Hollis will inspire readers to channel their inner Grace and try their hand at a few vintage treats – just like she would!

Read a snippet of The Sugar Palace >Try a recipe from Baking Yesteryear >

 

Want more? Click here to see more great books to gift this holiday season.

Featured Titles

I Am Pilgrim
The Day of the Jackal meets Homeland with a dash of Bourne - a debut thriller to take your breath away
Read more
The Year of the Locust
THE INSTANT TOP 3 BESTSELLER. 'Compare this with the thrillers written by Mr or Mrs Clinton, and you come away feeling that Hayes is the one who has more inside knowledge' Telegraph
Read more
Ghosts
The bestselling razor-sharp debut novel by the author of Everything I Know About Love
Read more
Good Material
From the bestselling author of Ghosts and Everything I Know About Love: a sharply funny, beautifully observed and exquisitely relatable story of heartbreak and friendship, and how to survive both.
Read more
Shakespeare
Britain's greatest Shakespearean actor reveals her secrets in a series of intimate conversations
Read more
Question 7
Beginning at a love hotel by Japan’s Inland Sea and ending by a river in Tasmania, Question 7 is about the choices we make about love and the chain reaction that follows.
Read more
Wifedom

A blazing, genre-bending masterpiece from one of the most inventive writers of our time.

Read more
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect
The eagerly awaited follow-up to the international bestseller EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE - another deliciously witty locked room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz.
Read more
Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone
Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle meet Knives Out and The Thursday Murder Club in an ingenious blend of classic and modern murder mystery.
Read more
The Sugar Palace
The heart-stopping new historical romantic adventure from the bestselling author of The Orphans.
Read more
Baking Yesteryear
A decade-by-decade bakebook that highlights the best (and a few of the worst) baking recipes from the 20th century
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
QUIZ: Which book should you read this summer?

Take this quiz to discover what your summer read should be in 2023.

Article
The 10 bestselling non-fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling non-fiction books this year.

Article
The 10 bestselling fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling fiction books this year.

Article
Everyone On Train Is A Suspect Crossword

Put your sleuthing to the test with this train- & crime-themed crossword inspired by Benjamin Stevenson's Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect.

Article
See what reviewers are saying about Wifedom

‘One of the most startling explorations of life-writing in recent times . . . a genre-bending tour-de-force that resurrects an invisible woman.’

Article
6 authors share why they love meeting readers

Find out what authors think about book events and learn about upcoming chances to meet your favourite authors in person.

Article
QUIZ: find your partner in crime this summer

Take this fun quiz to find out which crime novel you should read this summer.

Article
What to gift Dad for Father’s Day based on his personality

Give the gift of the perfect book this Father's Day.

Article
Anna Funder books to read after finishing Wifedom

If you’re obsessed with Anna Funder’s new book, Wifedom, check out more books by the author to read next.

Article
4 of the best Australian Outback crime novels of 2023

Australian crime fiction is having a moment; see the new books to have on your radar in 2023.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles