> Skip to content
Benjamin Stevenson
Photo Credit: © Monica Pronk

Benjamin Stevenson

On tour


Benjamin Stevenson is an award-winning stand-up comedian and USA Today best-selling author. He is the author of the globally popular ‘Ernest Cunningham Mysteries’, including Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone, which is currently being adapted into a major HBO TV series, and Everyone on This Train is a Suspect. His books have sold over 750,000 copies in twenty-nine territories and have been nominated for eight ‘Book of the Year’ awards.

His latest mystery is Everyone This Christmas Has A Secret, which will be released in October 2024.

Instagram: @stevensonexperience

Related events

Event

01 Aug
2024

Brisbane, QLD

Penguin Noir: Hickey, McIntosh, Fox, Stevenson and Harper.

Bookings Essential

Load more

More features

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
2024 ABIAs shortlist announced

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted for the ABIAs in 2024. The winners will be announced on 9 May 2024.

Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
Article
6 authors share why they love meeting readers

Find out what authors think about book events and learn about upcoming chances to meet your favourite authors in person.

Video
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect by Benjamin Stevenson

READ MORE: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/everyone-on-this-train-is-a-suspect-9780143779940 The eagerly awaited follow-up to the international bestseller EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE - another deliciously witty locked room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz. 6 WRITERS. 5 DETECTIVES. 4 DAYS. 3 WEAPONS. 2 MURDERS. 1 TRAIN... 'An outstanding and exceptional mystery from start to finish . . . everything fans would hope for.' JANE HARPER ----------------------------------------------------------- When the Australian Mystery Writers’ Society invited me to their crime-writing festival aboard the Ghan, the famous train between Darwin and Adelaide, I was hoping for some inspiration for my second book. Fiction, this time: I needed a break from real people killing each other. Obviously, that didn’t pan out. The program is a who’s who of crime-writing royalty: the debut writer (me!) the forensic science writer the blockbuster writer the legal thriller writer the literary writer the psychological suspense writer. But when one of us is murdered, six authors quickly turn into five detectives. Together, we should know how to solve a crime. Or commit one. How can you find a killer when all the suspects know how to get away with murder?

Article
Everyone On Train Is A Suspect Crossword

Put your sleuthing to the test with this train- & crime-themed crossword inspired by Benjamin Stevenson's Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect.

Article
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

Article
4 of the best Australian Outback crime novels of 2023

Australian crime fiction is having a moment; see the new books to have on your radar in 2023.

Article
Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase

An exciting Penguin Random House author showcase on 9 August!

Article
Catch these authors at Australia’s biggest writers festivals this May

Find out which Penguin Random House authors will be attending writers festivals in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney this May.

Article
2023 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners will be announced on 25 May 2023.

Article
Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2022

Discover the best Penguin Random House books of 2022 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

Article
Authors were back on the road in 2022 - and we loved it!

Join us as we travel back in time through 2022 with the authors that hit the road this year.

Article
Books of the year 2022

From fantastically funny rom-coms to straightforward self-help, these are some of the best books of 2022.

Article
15 beach reads to enjoy this summer

See some of the best beach reads of 2023. Fiction, non-fiction, and children’s books, there’s something from every genre to enjoy.

Article
Try a new genre with an audiobook

Want to try something new? These popular audiobooks from different genres will help you explore new subjects and themes while listening. You might just discover an unexpected favourite!

Article
Why the Australian outback makes a perfect setting for crime novels

An intro to the bourgeoning genre of outback noir.

Article
Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone book club notes

Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone is a fiendishly clever mystery that will keep your book club guessing and introduces a family of characters brilliant for discussion.

Article
Author's bizarre Google search while writing new book

Benjamin Stevenson talks to us about his new must-have mystery and his friend's odd act that inspired his book.

Article
Meet the family at the centre of our must-have whodunnit

The Cunninghams don't really get along, and every one of them has killed someone. Meet the family to help you find the culprit.

Video
Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone by Benjamin Stevenson Book Trailer

Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle meet Knives Out and The Thursday Murder Club in this fiendishly clever blend of classic and modern murder mystery.

Video
Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone by Benjamin Stevenson Book Trailer

Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle meet Knives Out and The Thursday Murder Club in this fiendishly clever blend of classic and modern murder mystery.

Article
Edgy new murder mystery optioned for TV series

Benjamin Stevenson's new book Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone is set to become a limited series.

Article
Benjamin Stevenson crime and thriller Q&A

The Either Side of Midnight author on comedy vs crime, writing advice and pointy things near eyeballs.

Article
Benjamin Stevenson Q&A

The Greenlight author on the many intricacies and layers of crime writing.