> Skip to content

Article  •  26 April 2024

 

Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Penguin Noir is back by popular demand with two events coming to Brisbane and Melbourne this August.

Join us on 1 August in Brisbane or 8 August in Melbourne for an action-packed showcase with some of the best Australian crime writers.

Penguin Noir Brisbane

GET TICKETS

The authors

  • Benjamin Stevenson: Benjamin Stevenson is an award-winning stand-up comedian and author. His third novel, Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone, was a huge bestseller and will soon be adapted into a major HBO TV series. The book also received several accolades: being shortlisted for the Dymocks Book of the Year 2022, ABIA General Fiction Book of the Year 2023 and BookPeople's Fiction Book of the Year 2023, as well as being named as one of The Sunday Times's best crime novels of 2022. His new novel, Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect, was released in October.
  • Candice Fox: Candice Fox is the author of ten internationally bestselling crime novels and the winner of three prestigious Ned Kelly Awards. She has also co-written seven New York Times bestsellers with James Patterson, the world’s bestselling thriller writer. Her most recent novel, Devil's Kitchen, is a fast-paced read about a New York City firefighting crew who use their unique position to pull off heists undetected.
  • Fiona McIntosh: Fiona McIntosh is an internationally bestselling author of novels for adults and children. She co-founded an award-winning travel magazine with her husband, which they ran for fifteen years while raising their twin sons before she became a full-time author. Fiona roams the world researching and drawing inspiration for her novels and runs a series of highly respected fiction masterclasses. She calls South Australia home. Her Jack Hawksworth books have won over crime fiction fans, with the latest instalment, Foul Play, centring around a complex, sport-centric blackmail scheme.
  • Margaret Hickey: Margaret Hickey is an award-winning author and playwright from North East Victoria. She has a PhD in Creative Writing and is deeply interested in rural lives and communities. She is the author of Cutters End, Stone Town and Broken Bay. Her new novel, The Creeper, will be released in June 2024.
  • Georgia Harper: Georgia Harper is a psychologist who has worked with both serious violent offenders and victim-survivors of crime. Her career spans correctional, forensic mental health and rural psychology roles. She advises on LGBTIQ+ workforce matters and, in keeping with her passion for animal welfare, was the Senior Inspector Prosecutions for RSPCA Queensland. Born in Brisbane, Georgia currently lives and works on the beautiful Darling Downs, where she enjoys writing in her paddock under the supervision of her shire horse. What I Would Do to You is her first novel.

Penguin Noir Melbourne

GET TICKETS

The authors

  • Kerryn Mayne: Kerryn Mayne is an author, former wedding photographer and a current police officer. When not at work attempting to solve crimes, she is writing about it or preparing an endless stream of snacks for her four children. Kerryn lives in the bayside suburbs of Melbourne with her husband, children and a highly suspect lovebird. She has published two novels: Lenny Marks Gets Away with Murder and Joy Moody is Out of Time.
  • Amanda Hampson: Amanda Hampson grew up in rural New Zealand. She has lived in London and Sydney and now lives in Melbourne. Writing professionally for over twenty years, she is the author of The Olive SistersTwo for the RoadThe French PerfumerThe Yellow VillaSixty SummersLovebirds, and the bestselling cosy crime novel The Tea Ladies. Her new novel, the second book in the Tea Ladies series, is The Cryptic Clue.
  • Glenna Thomson: After a successful career that saw her working as an overseas aid and a senior executive with a global food company, Glenna and her husband spent almost twenty years living and working on their cattle property in rural Victoria. During that time, they also owned and operated a commercial blueberry orchard. Glenna’s time in the country enables her to write authentically about life in the city and remote locations alike. She now lives in inner Melbourne with her husband. Glenna’s most recent book is Gone; she is also the author of Blueberry and Stella and Margie.
  • Amy Doak: Amy Doak is a lifelong lover of books, reading and writing. Following a career in media advertising, radio, television and magazines, she continues to work as a freelance writer and is excited to witness her non-fiction writing career evolve into a fiction one. Amy lives in regional Victoria with her husband, teen, tween, dog, and a very grumpy cat. Amy's debut YA mystery, Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer came out in 2023. A follow-up book, Eleanor Jones Can't Keep a Secret, will be published in July 2024.

Featured Titles

Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone
Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle meet Knives Out and The Thursday Murder Club in an ingenious blend of classic and modern murder mystery.
Read more
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect
The eagerly awaited follow-up to the international bestseller EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE - another deliciously witty locked room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz.
Read more
Devil’s Kitchen
Candice Fox’s latest thriller is the definition of nailbiter, as a female agent goes undercover in a New York firefighting crew that is far more dangerous than the fires they fight.
Read more
Foul Play
The heart-stopping new crime thriller in the Detective Jack Hawksworth series by blockbuster author Fiona McIntosh.
Read more
The Creeper
The chilling new mystery novel from the award-winning author of bestsellers Cutters End, Stone Town and Broken Bay.
Read more
What I Would Do to You
A compulsively readable debut novel for those who could not put down Dirt Town or Before You Knew My Name.
Read more
Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder
Kerryn Mayne’s stunning debut is an irresistible novel that’s both chilling and charming, suspenseful and uplifting. And, of course, simply unforgettable…
Read more
Joy Moody is Out of Time
'Mayne's skilful storytelling and brilliant characterisation will take readers on an unforgettable journey - a must-read for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.' KELLY RIMMER
Read more
The Tea Ladies
A wickedly witty cosy crime novel set in Sydney in the swinging sixties, ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.
Read more
The Cryptic Clue
Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.
Read more
Gone
Gone is a gripping rural crime novel of a grieving family and their forty-year journey to discover the truth.
Read more
Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer
Karen McManus and Holly Jackson meets Fleur Ferris in this fast-paced YA murder mystery.
Read more
Eleanor Jones Can’t Keep a Secret
Eleanor Jones stirs up more mystery and danger in this fast-paced YA mystery.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
Mini-me reads for mums and kids this Mother’s Day

Read by example this Mother’s Day with these book duos, perfect for mums and their children.

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

Article
CBCA Book of the Year Notables 2024

5 Penguin books have made the Notables list this year. Learn more about them here.

Article
Candice Fox explains how she gleaned insight from real firefighters for her upcoming novel

The author shares how she approached New York firefighters and what she learned from them while researching for Devil’s Kitchen.

Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Article
QUIZ: find your partner in crime this summer

Take this fun quiz to find out which crime novel you should read this summer.

Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
The 10 bestselling fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling fiction books this year.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

Article
Debut authors share their best tips for aspiring authors

The Fresh Voices of 2023 share their advice with fellow writers. Whether you’re aspiring to get your book published or looking for writing tips, these words of wisdom will help.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles