> Skip to content

Article  •  17 October 2023

 

6 authors share why they love meeting readers

Find out what authors think about book events and learn about upcoming chances to meet your favourite authors in person.

From a reader’s perspective, there are so many reasons to attend author events.

Connecting with other readers, getting a book signed, learning more about an author and what inspires them – these are all common reasons why readers attends book events. But what about authors?

If you’ve ever wondered what an author event is like from the point-of-view of the person sitting in the chair, you’re about to find out!

We asked some of our authors about events and why they love them.

Read on to find out what it’s like to be an author at an event and why they appreciate when readers attend.

Why authors love events

Author Annette Higgs headshot.

Annette Higgs, author of On a Bright Hillside in Paradise

'Sitting at the signing table to meet readers is my favourite part of a book event. So many readers have their own stories they tell me why they’re interested in my book, or if it’s a gift for someone special. Sometimes they’re writers themselves and want to ask a question. I love making these connections.'

 

Author Lang Leav headshot.

Lang Leav, author of Others Were Emeralds (out 5 September)

'Few things in this world offer a connection as profound and meaningful as literature. From a reader’s perspective, having a book autographed by its creator, along with the cherished memory of meeting them in person, creates an exceptionally memorable and intimate experience.'

 

Sandie Docker author headshot.

Sandie Docker, author of The Redgum River Retreat

'One of the best parts of this writing gig is getting to meet readers in person at events. Readers bring our stories to life, and meeting them, discussing our work with them and having that tangible connection, makes the reading and writing experience richer and, I think, makes us better writers. And meeting readers, who are central to what we do, also gives us the encouragement to keep writing when the self-doubt creeps in during the long, isolated hours at our desks.'

 

Author Clare Fletcher headshot.

Clare Fletcher, author of Love Match (out 29 August)

'Writing a book is only half the story - it really comes alive when a reader imagines it into life and brings their own experiences to it. So as an author it's such a treat to meet readers at events because that's when you learn what parts of your story have resonated with people, what's made them laugh and moved them. That never gets old.'

 

Author Justin Smith headshot.

Justin Smith, author of Good As Gold (out 22 August)

'I love finding out what someone has taken away from reading the book, and often they’ll see something that I didn’t. I like finding out who was their favourite character and why.

It’s a privilege when someone takes the time to read your words. And honestly, I could talk to someone all day about one of my stories because it helps me write the next one.'

 

 

Author Benjamin Stevenson headshot.

Benjamin Stevenson, author of Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect (out 17 October)

'I love meeting readers because they aren't just readers, they are my co-detectives! My mysteries are very much about the reader playing along and solving the mystery alongside both my characters and me, and so to hear and share those experiences is magic!'

Upcoming events:

 

Featured Titles

On a Bright Hillside in Paradise
From the winner of the 2022 Penguin Literary Prize. 'A jewel of a novel: luminous, vivid, and deftly shaped.' FIONA McFARLANE
Read more
Others Were Emeralds
A stirring coming-of-age novel about guilt, loss, love and memory. Others Were Emeralds explores the inherent danger of allowing our misconceptions to shape our reality.
Read more
The Redgum River Retreat

Welcome to the Redgum River Retreat, where harmony is found when hope is lost.

Read more
Love Match
A new romantic comedy from the author of Five Bush Weddings
Read more
Good As Gold
From the acclaimed author of Cooper Not Out comes a novel set in the Melbourne Goldrush era that reimagines the running of the inaugural Melbourne Cup.
Read more
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect
The eagerly awaited follow-up to the international bestseller EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE - another deliciously witty locked room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
Why submit to the Penguin Literary Prize? A previous winner's perspective

‘You owe it to the writer you are to put your work out there.’

Article
Debut authors share their best tips for aspiring authors

The Fresh Voices of 2023 share their advice with fellow writers. Whether you’re aspiring to get your book published or looking for writing tips, these words of wisdom will help.

Article
Everyone On Train Is A Suspect Crossword

Put your sleuthing to the test with this train- & crime-themed crossword inspired by Benjamin Stevenson's Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect.

Article
This romance novel will fill the void left behind by the Women’s World Cup

Feeling sad that the Women’s World Cup is over? Find out why reading Love Match will fill the void.

Article
4 of the best Australian Outback crime novels of 2023

Australian crime fiction is having a moment; see the new books to have on your radar in 2023.

Article
Catch these authors at Australia’s biggest writers festivals this May

Find out which Penguin Random House authors will be attending writers festivals in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney this May.

Article
Authors were back on the road in 2022 - and we loved it!

Join us as we travel back in time through 2022 with the authors that hit the road this year.

Article
15 beach reads to enjoy this summer

See some of the best beach reads of 2023. Fiction, non-fiction, and children’s books, there’s something from every genre to enjoy.

Article
Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2022

Discover the best Penguin Random House books of 2022 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

Article
Books of the year 2022

From fantastically funny rom-coms to straightforward self-help, these are some of the best books of 2022.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles