> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 2 January 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143788508
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $19.99

The French Perfumer




In the tradition of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a charming historical novel set in the South of France by the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters.

'Shorthand typist required by English speaker in the South of France. Live-in, full board plus salary commensurate with experience.'

Iris Turner, an unworldly young Englishwoman, arrives in the French Riviera to take up a secretarial role for the mysterious Hammond Brooke. Living in a small, exclusive hotel among eccentric and unpredictable aristocrats and struggling to gain her employer’s trust, she soon realises that nothing is as it seems.

Initiated into the mysterious world of perfume, she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue and deception. Gradually discovering the truth, she gains a new understanding of the meaning of love, loyalty and betrayal.

By the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters, this is a captivating and evocative novel full of surprising twists and turns.

'Hampson has created a vivid world and colourful characters … a tale with verve, sharp observations and humour.’ Sarah Turnbull, author of Almost French

  • Pub date: 2 January 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143788508
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Amanda Hampson

Amanda Hampson grew up in rural New Zealand. She spent her early twenties travelling, finally settling in Australia in 1979 where she now lives in Sydney's Northern Beaches. Writing professionally for more than 20 years, she is the author of two non-fiction books, numerous articles and novels The Olive Sisters, Two for the Road, The French Perfumer and The Yellow Villa.

Also by Amanda Hampson

See all

Discover More

Book Clubs
Escape to the south of France in Amanda Hampson’s world of colour.
Article
Five things Amanda Hampson learned while researching for The French Perfumer.
Article
Amanda Hampson recalls her personal journey through reading, journalism and writing fiction.

Related titles