> Skip to content

In the tradition of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a charming historical novel set in the South of France by the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters.

'Shorthand typist required by English speaker in the South of France. Live-in, full board plus salary commensurate with experience.'

Iris Turner, an unworldly young Englishwoman, arrives in the French Riviera to take up a secretarial role for the mysterious Hammond Brooke. Living in a small, exclusive hotel among eccentric and unpredictable aristocrats and struggling to gain her employer’s trust, she soon realises that nothing is as it seems.

Initiated into the mysterious world of perfume, she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue and deception. Gradually discovering the truth, she gains a new understanding of the meaning of love, loyalty and betrayal.

By the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters, this is a captivating and evocative novel full of surprising twists and turns.

'Hampson has created a vivid world and colourful characters … a tale with verve, sharp observations and humour.’ Sarah Turnbull, author of Almost French

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143788508

    January 2, 2018

    Penguin

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Trade Paperback

    9780143784364

    February 27, 2017

    Viking

    240 pages

    RRP $29.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9780143784371

    February 27, 2017

    Penguin eBooks

    224 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Extract

Paris
April 1956

My first day in France! I surely must have known that the French drive on the wrong side of the road; nevertheless it took me completely by surprise. It is only by sheer good luck that I have even survived my first day. Paris may be romantic arm-in-arm with your lover but for a woman alone and disorientated, it is nothing short of terrifying. My schoolgirl French turns out to be hopeless. I might as well be surrounded by people speaking in chemical formulae or algebra equations.

Continue Reading
Book Clubs
The French Perfumer

Escape to the south of France in Amanda Hampson’s world of colour.

Article
Surprising Perfume Facts

Five things Amanda Hampson learned while researching for The French Perfumer.

Also by Amanda Hampson

The Yellow Villa
Two for the Road
The Olive Sisters

Recommendations

Voyager
The Award
Beauty in Thorns
The Tea Gardens
An Uncommon Woman
Tulip Fever
Tiger Men
The Drover's Wife
Life After Life
Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition
Munich
The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
Echo Burning
A Gentleman in Moscow
Best Laid Plans
The Power Of One
The Girl on the Train
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Golden House