> Skip to content
Kerryn Mayne
Photo Credit: © Kelly Dwyer Portraiture

Kerryn Mayne

On tour


Kerryn Mayne is an author, former wedding photographer and current police officer. When not at work attempting to solve crime, she is writing about it or preparing an endless stream of snacks for her four children. Kerryn lives in the bayside suburbs of Melbourne with her husband, children and a highly suspect lovebird. She is the author of two novels: Lenny Marks Gets Away with Murder and Joy Moody Is Out Of Time.

Related events

Event

16 Apr
2024

Chelsea, VIC

Kerryn Mayne at Chelsea Library

Bookings Essential

Event

30 May
2024

Warrnambool, VIC

Kerryn Mayne at Warrnambool Library

Bookings Essential

Load more

Books by Kerryn Mayne

Joy Moody is Out of Time

'Mayne's skilful storytelling and brilliant characterisation will take readers on an unforgettable journey - a must-read for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.' KELLY RIMMER

Read more
Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder

Kerryn Mayne’s stunning debut is an irresistible novel that’s both chilling and charming, suspenseful and uplifting. And, of course, simply unforgettable…

Read more

More features

Article
2024 ABIAs shortlist announced

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted for the ABIAs in 2024. The winners will be announced on 9 May 2024.

Video
Joy Moody is Out of Time by Kerryn Mayne

OUT NOW: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/joy-moody-is-out-of-time-9781761343285 On her twin daughters’ twenty-first birthday, Joy Moody – proprietor of Bonbeach's premier laundromat – is found dead. Yet that is not the strangest thing happening behind the bright pink facade of Joyful Suds. For much of their lives, Joy has been telling Cassie and Andie one big, fat lie: that they are from the future, and that when they turn twenty-one they will travel back to the year 2050. What started as a colourful tale to explain how the girls came to live with her has now become a decade-long deception. Worse still, Joy has started to believe it herself. The lie is certainly preferable to the truth she can’t face – about what happened to the girls’ real mother, and how far Joy's gone to keep them 'safe' . . . With the twins’ twenty-first birthday fast approaching, and with Andie starting to have doubts, time is fast running out for Joy Moody. In more ways than one.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

Article
Debut authors share their best tips for aspiring authors

The Fresh Voices of 2023 share their advice with fellow writers. Whether you’re aspiring to get your book published or looking for writing tips, these words of wisdom will help.

Article
The 2023 debut novel reviewers are raving about

Learn about ‘Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder’ and check out rave reviews from readers.

Article
10 reasons why everyone should support debut authors

Find out why it’s so important to support authors upon the publication of their first book and meet a few of our 2023 debut authors.

Article
This debut author wrote her book during maternity leave and lockdowns

Kerryn Mayne, author of ‘Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder’ shares details about her novel, the writing process, and the fact that her four-year-old believes her protagonist is a real person.

Article
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

Article
The books everyone is talking about in 2023

See the books that readers are obsessing over lately.

Article
Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase

An exciting Penguin Random House author showcase on 9 August!

Article
What book to gift Mum this Mother’s Day, based on her favourite flower

Find the perfect book based on the blooms she already loves.

Video
Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder by Kerryn Mayne | OUT NOW

Kerryn Mayne's irresistible debut, Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder, is chilling yet charming, and suspenseful yet uplifting. Whether you're a crime and mystery lover, or looking for a darkly humorous summer read, this is not one to miss! Lenny Marks is good at not remembering. She has spent the last twenty years not thinking about the day her mother left her when she was still a child. Her stepfather’s parting words, however, remain annoyingly unforgettable: 'You did this.' Now thirty-seven, Lenny prefers contentment and order over the unreliability of happiness and the messiness of relationships. She fills her days teaching at the local primary school, and her nights playing Scrabble with her pretend housemate, watching reruns of Friends and rearranging her thirty-six copies of The Hobbit. Recently though, if only to appease her beloved foster-mum, Lenny has set herself the goal of ‘getting a life’. Then, out of the blue, a letter arrives from the Adult Parole Board. And when her desperate attempts to ignore it fail, Lenny starts to unravel. Worse, she starts to remember . . . Order your copy here: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/lenny-marks-gets-away-with-murder-9781761048043

Video
Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder by Kerryn Mayne | COMING SOON

Kerryn Mayne's irresistible debut, Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder, is chilling yet charming, and suspenseful yet uplifting.  Whether you're a crime and mystery lover, or looking for a darkly humorous summer read, this is not one to miss!  Pre-order from our website now: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/lenny-marks-gets-away-with-murder-9781761048043

Article
Add these 2023 books to your TBR list for a year of great reading

Check out the most anticipated books of 2023.