> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1979)

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years. Fully revised and updated edition 2019/2020

  • Eagerly awaited, must-read new science book from the UK's bestselling non-fiction writer. Bryson is the prize-winning author of A Short History of Nearly Everything and The Road to Little Dribbling

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • The bestselling phenomenon returns with 21 bite-sized lessons to help us understand our troubled times.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • Why do some businesses achieve long-lasting success and others don't?

  • An exciting and ground-breaking work of journalism and activism about women, and the systemic discrimination caused by a data gap that affects half the population – from an award-winning writer and feminist campaigner, who got a woman on our banknotes and a statue of Millicent Fawcett in Parliament Square

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • From the bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees comes an exploration of the invisible connections sustaining the entire natural world

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An award-winning journalist reveals the secrets of why you do what you do - and how to change

  • The slowness of climate change is a fairy tale, perhaps as pernicious as the one that says it isn't happening at all, and if your anxiety about it is dominated by fears of sea-level rise, you are barely scratching the surface of what terrors are possible, even within the lifetime of a teenager today.

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller

  • Could psychedelic drugs change our worldview? One of America's most revered writers takes us on a mind-altering journey to the frontiers of human consciousness.

  • A dramatic, minute-by-minute account of one of the most shattering events of the Cold War, from an award-winning historian.

  • A compact and up-to-date photographic guide to Australia’s birds from the author of Birdscaping Australian Gardens.

  • Michael Palin brings to life one of the greatest adventures of all time

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

  • Real marketing isn't about racking up clicks and tweets; it's about connection, empathy, and making a difference.

Browse more