> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1881)

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An award-winning journalist reveals the secrets of why you do what you do - and how to change

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

  • In this mind-bending introduction to modern physics, Carlo Rovelli explains Einstein's theory of general relativity, quantum mechanics, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, elementary particles, gravity, and the nature of the mind.

  • The award-winning bestseller that put Australian birds on the world map - nature and science writing at their best.

  • A short history of everybody for the last 13,000 years. Winner of the Rhone-Poulenc Science Book Prize.

  • The international bestselling broadside that has taken the world by storm

  • The extraordinary personal autobiography of the world's most famous scientist, written solely and exclusively by Stephen Hawking.

  • A milestone work of memoir, travel writing and history, The Bush by Don Watson takes us on a profoundly revelatory and entertaining journey through the Australian landscape and character.

  • Australian author Candice Fox has taken the crime-writing world by storm in the last few years and become a #1 bestselling author in the US and UK. Eden is the second novel in her award-winning crime series.

  • The mysteries and emotional richness of the animal world revealed as never before, from the author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Hidden Life of Trees.

  • A charmingly illustrated gift book profiling 50 famous women scientists from the ancient Greek mathematician, philosopher, and astronomer, Hypatia, to Marie Curie, a physicist and chemist.

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. A sparkling new anthology of essays, lectures and letters by the brilliant evolutionary biologist, author of The Selfish Gene and The God Delusion.

  • From Aristotle to Albert Einstein, Michael Faraday to the Higgs boson, he takes us on a wondrous journey to show us that beyond our ever-changing idea of reality is a whole new world that has yet to be discovered.

Browse more