> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1881)

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • The Top Ten bestselling authors of The Quantum Universe take us on an awe-inspiring journey of scientific exploration.

  • The award-winning bestseller that put Australian birds on the world map - nature and science writing at their best.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • An award-winning journalist reveals the secrets of why you do what you do - and how to change

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller with a new appendix of updates from the author.

  • ‘Over time, I nursed victims of war, the posh, the poor, the famous and the infamous . . . Oh, the stories I tell!'

  • A Life Underwater is the extraordinary memoir of marine biologist Charlie Veron, a maverick Australian who transformed our understanding of coral reefs.

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. A new anthology of essays and previously published and unpublished work by the brilliant evolutionary biologist, author of The Selfish Gene and The God Delusion.

  • The international bestselling broadside that has taken the world by storm

  • The Gene is the story of one of the most powerful and dangerous ideas in our history.

  • A milestone work of memoir, travel writing and history, The Bush by Don Watson takes us on a profoundly revelatory and entertaining journey through the Australian landscape and character.

  • A.I. is the future of science, technology, and business - and there is no person better qualified or situated to explore that future than Max Tegmark.

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

  • Based on exciting new research about the dramatic benefits of vibrant gut health and a diverse gut microbiome, this diet aims to nurture your gut while burning off excess weight and harmful belly fat.

  • Perfect for sliding in your pocket or stuffing in your bag, Wreck This Journal Everywhere is the ideal creative companion!

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

Browse more