> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1881)

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller with a new appendix of updates from the author.

  • An award-winning journalist reveals the secrets of why you do what you do - and how to change

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • The mysteries and emotional richness of the animal world revealed as never before, from the author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Hidden Life of Trees.

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • From the Nasa astronaut who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station – what it’s like out there and what it’s like now, back here. Enter Scott Kelly's fascinating world and dare to think of your own a little differently.

  • Brave, compassionate and emotionally compelling, Jeff Bauman's story shows what strength really means.

  • The 100 most substantive solutions to roll back climate change, based on meticulous research by leading scientists and policymakers around the world.

  • A charmingly illustrated gift book profiling 50 famous women scientists from the ancient Greek mathematician, philosopher, and astronomer, Hypatia, to Marie Curie, a physicist and chemist.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated orginal narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • A milestone work of memoir, travel writing and history, The Bush by Don Watson takes us on a profoundly revelatory and entertaining journey through the Australian landscape and character.

  • A short history of everybody for the last 13,000 years. Winner of the Rhone-Poulenc Science Book Prize.

  • The award-winning bestseller that put Australian birds on the world map - nature and science writing at their best.

  • The international bestselling broadside that has taken the world by storm

  • A beautiful new colouring book that takes you beneath the waves by creator of the worldwide bestsellers, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

Browse more