> Skip to content

Article  •  16 March 2023

 

4 famous cooks share their favourite food memories

Your favourite cookbook authors have spoken, and these are their favourite food memories. From ice cream in Paris to takeaway pizza, read about their most-treasured gastronomical moments.

Anyone who loves food can confirm: food is not just fuel. For so many, food is much more. Food can bring back memories, create occasions for certain experiences and be the foundation of some very special moments.

Curious to find out about the food moments that have impacted some of the most famous cookbook authors, we decided to ask the question, 'What’s your favourite food memory?'

The responses were sweet, savoury and full of love.

Scroll on to read what they had to say and check out some of the best recipes from their cookbooks.

Eloise Head, author of Fitwaffle's Baked In One

I always used to bake with my great auntie and little sister whilst my mum and dad were at work. She’s actually the one who introduced me to baking. We would make jam tarts, fairy cakes, shortbread biscuits etc. and it was always so much fun.

Try a recipe from Eloise:

Recipe card showing ingredients for salted caramel fudge.

 

Nathan Anthony, author of Bored of Lunch: The Healthy Slow Cooker Book

Sitting on the living room floor watching movies with my parents while eating takeaway pizza. That is the beauty of food, it can trigger lovely memories.

Try a recipe from Nathan:

Recipe card showing ingredients for red lentil dhal.

 

Jane Dunn, author of Jane's Patisserie: Celebrate!

Baking for my friend’s little girl’s first birthday is my most recent favourite – but generally I love every memory with food – they’re all so delicious!

Try a recipe from Jane:

Recipe card showing ingredients for cinnamon blondies.

 

Matt Preston, author of Matt Preston’s World of Flavour

I have so many but they are always connected primarily to the people I shared the meal with. It could be sitting on the tiny quay at Tavira (Portugal) eating linguardo straight from the grill with my best friends and the woman I love; picking tomatoes from the sweltering greenhouse as a small boy with my grandfather; or sharing a recent meal at Chauncy in Heathcote with my RoadTrip Club where we laughed for 4 hours straight and ate (and drank) exceptionally well. See my instagram, @mattscravat for exactly how well!

Try a recipe from Matt:

Recipe card showing ingredients for Six-minute chicken satay.

 

Are you a foodie? Subscribe to 'The Secret Ingredient', our food-focused newsletter, for delicious recipes straight to your inbox!

Featured Titles

Fitwaffle's Baked In One
Social media sensation Fitwaffle (7 million followers), author of the bestselling Baking It Easy, makes quick and easy cakes, cookies, brownies and cheesecakes using just one tin.
Read more
Bored of Lunch: The Healthy Slow Cooker Book
The much-anticipated first book from the hit diet recipe platform, Bored of Lunch. Eat well and save money with 80 easy, healthy slow cooker recipes. For fans of Pinch of Nom Quick and Easy (463k TCM), BBC Good Food's Slow Cooker Favourites (163k TCM) and The Fitness Chef (20k TCM).
Read more
Jane's Patisserie: Celebrate!
100 simple recipes to make every day a celebration, from the cross-platform sensation. For fans of The Hummingbird Bakery: Cake Days (186k) and GBBO: How to Turn Everyday Bakes into Showstoppers (196k).
Read more
Matt Preston's World of Flavour
Cook up delicious food from around the world right in your kitchen, with Matt as your wise and entertaining guide.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
A senior product manager shares the debut novel she's obsessing over

Taryn Burges waxes lyrical about her love for Chain-Gang All-Stars, one of the buzziest debuts of 2023.

Article
Matt Preston reveals his favourite childhood foods

In his new book, Big Mouth, Matt Preston shares some of his favourite foods.

Recipe
Fitwaffle's Cookies and Cream-Stuffed Brownies

These moreish chocolate brownies have a hidden layer of Oreo cookies in every bite, adding an unexpected but very welcome crunch.

Q&A
Nathan Anthony of Bored of Lunch fame shares his ultimate comfort food

We chatted with social media star and home cook extraordinaire Nathan Anthony to learn about his favourite herbs, most-used ingredients and more.

Recipe
Creamy chicken, chorizo & sundried tomato pasta

The delicious pasta recipe from Nathan Anthony that's gone viral around the world.

Recipe
Garlic mac & cheese

A flavourful fuss-free favourite, perfect for lunches.

Recipe
Beef noodles with peanut sauce

Prepare your ingredients, and let the slow cooker do the rest!

Recipe
Chocolate hazelnut cookies and cream bars

A buttery cookies and cream base, a thick layer of chocolate hazelnut spread, topped with sweet cream cheese and a sprinkle of cookie crumbs.

Recipe
Salted caramel fudge

This is my all-time favourite fudge flavour. It’s sweet, creamy, salty and crumbly all at the same time.

Recipe
School cake

Who remembers this cake from school? Often served with custard – yum!

Q&A
Eloise Head (AKA Fitwaffle) shares her all-time favourite baking ingredients

We caught up with Eloise Head ahead of the release of her cookbook, ‘Fitwaffle’s Baked In One.’ Learn about her favourite ingredients, ultimate comfort food and more.

Recipe
Irish stew with beef & Guinness

A one-step, full-flavour Irish stew.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles