> Skip to content

Recipe  •  23 January 2023

 

Red Lentil Dhal

Dhal goes really well with vegetables and rice, but it has plenty of sauce for dipping naan as well. You could even top the bowls with some grilled chicken.

I absolutely love dhal and this is one of my go-to dishes when I am having a vegetarian day, and it’s sure to become one of your family favourites. The addition of coconut milk makes it deliciously creamy, but you could replace this with a tin of chopped tomatoes for a lower-calorie version, if you prefer.

Serves 4

  • 380g dried red lentils
  • 250ml cold water
  • 400ml tin of reduced-fat coconut milk
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 5cm fresh ginger, grated
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • fresh coriander and chopped spring onions, to garnish

Method

Place all the ingredients in the slow cooker, stir and season to taste. Cook on low for 5–6 hours, then stir and garnish with fresh coriander and chopped spring onions.

Feature Title

Bored of Lunch: The Healthy Slow Cooker Book
The much-anticipated first book from the hit diet recipe platform, Bored of Lunch. Eat well and save money with 80 easy, healthy slow cooker recipes. For fans of Pinch of Nom Quick and Easy (463k TCM), BBC Good Food's Slow Cooker Favourites (163k TCM) and The Fitness Chef (20k TCM).
Read more

More features

See all recipes
Recipe
Creamy chicken, chorizo & sundried tomato pasta

The delicious pasta recipe from Nathan Anthony that's gone viral around the world.

Recipe
Garlic mac & cheese

A flavourful fuss-free favourite, perfect for lunches.

Recipe
Beef noodles with peanut sauce

Prepare your ingredients, and let the slow cooker do the rest!

Recipe
Irish stew with beef & Guinness

A one-step, full-flavour Irish stew.

Recipe
Honey Chilli Beef Noodles

A delicious, easy fakeaway that’s healthier than your average take-out noodles.

Recipe
Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

Overnight oats + cake + air fryer = easy and tasty!

Recipe
Spicy tomato, tortellini and chilli soup

This vegetarian slow cooker spicy tomato tortellini and chilli soup from Bored of Lunch is an easy dish for cold days.

Recipe
Chilli con carne macaroni melt

This easy slow cooker recipe from Bored of Lunch combines chilli con carne with macaroni cheese for the very definition of healthy comfort food.

Recipe
Harissa chicken gyros

A stunning lunchtime chicken gyros.

Recipe
French toast bites

Tasty French toast, in bite-sized form.

Recipe
Fish tacos

Give your air fryer a whirl with this fish taco recipe.

Recipe
Cashew nut paella

A flavourful, plant-based paella with easy 'flex it' options to add meat or dairy, from the most helpful cookbook for mixed-diet households, DK's There's a Vegan in the House.

Looking for more recipes?

See all recipes