> Skip to content

Article  •  22 May 2018

 

My writing life

Amanda Hampson recalls her personal journey through reading, journalism and writing fiction.

Reading and writing have always been a pleasure for me. I grew up on a dairy farm in the back-blocks of New Zealand but my mother had a love of literature and classical music, so books and music were a part of our lives. My father is British, from Liverpool, and like many Northerners, a natural story-teller. I was considered the unreliable narrator in my family, prone to embellishment – my siblings are still a little sceptical about my version of any incident – so perhaps there were early signs of my vocation there.

In high school, I had an English teacher who was the published author of a slim volume of short stories. He was a crusty old chap with a dry sense of humour and was the only teacher who had my undivided attention. One day in class, he read aloud a short story by the American humourist, James Thurber. I was absolutely enthralled by the style and the wit of Thurber’s writing and was weeping with laughter. When the story finished, I looked around to discover the rest of the class were unimpressed, wondering what was wrong with me. And I realised that none of them recognised the brilliance in Thurber’s work; that what fascinated me simply bored them. It was a revelation that I was on a different path, and I yearned to be able to achieve that effect with words on the page.

Although I didn’t finish high school, my ambition to be a writer never dimmed and I embarked on a lifelong apprenticeship in reading that continues today. From my teen years onwards, I read widely, from crime to the European classics and particularly American and British 20th century literature.

In my twenties I began to write short stories, back then many magazines published short stories but I had limited success. A simpler way to publication was writing spec articles about subjects I was interested in and submitting them to magazines. I had a number of articles published, worked with editors, and began to hone my writing skills. Success in that area gave me the confidence to write my first non-fiction book, Battles with the Baby Gods, which was accepted for publication by Transworld. Following that I found the transition from non-fiction to fiction difficult. Once you find the subject matter and structure, writing a non-fiction book is not necessarily that difficult because the material exists. Fiction, to me, is so much tougher for the obvious reason that you have to make everything up and make it believable – not to mention enthralling, entertaining, moving, and satisfying to the reader.

Writing a novel was always my true ambition, everything else was a warm-up for the big event, but the more time that passed, the more intimidating it became. In my forties, juggling work and two small children, life was busy and full of distractions, but it became clear to me that I was running out of time. If I didn’t do this, I would be truly disappointed in myself. I just had to start, and push through all resistance. I’d spent so many years getting to this point, I wanted my first novel The Olive Sisters to be the best work I could produce and really gave no thought to publication at all until it was finished. Between work and family life, I managed to find pockets of time to write. About 50,000 words into the book, I realised that I had the wrong protagonist, so I put that work aside and started again. In the second version the story flowed more easily.

I asked several close friends to be muses and sent them a chapter on a deadline each month until that first draft was complete. Then the hard work really began of editing and polishing, getting feedback and reworking. My ambition was to have it finished to the standard of a published book, there was no question in my mind that was the only way to get it across the line with a publisher. When it was done, I sent it to an author I knew. He loved it and sent it to his publisher and it was accepted for publication. It was so rewarding to see it go out into readers’ hands and become a success.

Having finished my first novel I hoped I would naturally be more skilled and confident as I went on to start writing my second. After my second book, Two for the Road, was published, I became very caught up writing the script for a film version of The Olive Sisters and began to worry that I’d lost the ability to be self-directed. I came up with the concept of The French Perfumer as a new take on a classic genre that would be fun for readers and fun to write. Initially the writing was incredibly difficult, and I discovered I was suffering from an auto-immune disease that was affecting my concentration, so until that was under control, it was a difficult slog. On the other side of that problem, the revision – with my brain back in gear – was a delight. The Yellow Villa was hard and easy by turns. Every book has its own particular problems that need to be resolved, experience helps you identify the problem and work out solutions.

If I could give any advice to budding writers, I would always recommend being patient with yourself – allow yourself time to write your best work. It takes a long time to develop critical skills, find your natural writing style and understand how to polish your work. Publishers are looking for books that will engage and attract a readership, so try to move the focus away from publication being recognition of you as a writer, and instead concentrate on delighting readers, then you’ll come to the work with a different mindset.

 

Featured Titles

The Yellow Villa
A superbly crafted domestic drama from the author of The Olive Sisters and The French Perfumer.
Read more
The French Perfumer
In the tradition of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a charming historical novel set in the South of France by the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters.
Read more
The Olive Sisters
Old loves, new loves, warm toast and rich traditions are all part of the delicious blend of this absorbing story.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Didn't get to Europe this year? These 3 books will transport you there

Revisit three Amanda Hampson books to experience European summer from the comfort of your living room.

Article
Surprising perfume facts

Five things Amanda Hampson learned while researching for The French Perfumer.

Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Mini-me reads for mums and kids this Mother’s Day

Read by example this Mother’s Day with these book duos, perfect for mums and their children.

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

Article
Discover the new releases that book critics are loving this autumn

See what reviewers are saying about books published in April and May 2023.

Article
Is the reign of the cream sponge over?

Author Amanda Hampson reflects on her fond memories of this delightful cake.

Article
Why are we still in love with sixties fashion?

Amanda Hampson revisits the era in her upcoming novel, 'The Tea Ladies'.

Book clubs
The Yellow Villa book club notes

Uncover scandalous domestic drama with your book club in the picturesque setting of South-West France.

Book clubs
The Olive Sisters book club notes

Make a toast to The Olive Sisters at your next book club. 

Looking for more articles?

See all articles