> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  30 April 2018

 

The Yellow Villa book club notes

Uncover scandalous domestic drama with your book club in the picturesque setting of South-West France.

Mia and Ben, an Australian couple in their early thirties, have relinquished one dream and embraced another, selling their Sydney flat and purchasing an old yellow house in the picturesque village of Cordes-sur-Ciel in South-West France. 

There they meet Dominic and Susannah, a British couple in their mid-sixties, whose lavish lifestyle and welcoming hospitality soon deteriorate, unearthing secrets and scandal they had hoped to leave in London. As the peaceful idyll of their French life begins to unravel, can Dominic and Susannah escape each other, and can Ben and Mia they find their way back to each other and the dream they shared?
 

Discussion points and questions:

  • Which of the characters did you relate to the most?
  • What was your favourite moment in the novel?
  • Do you think Susannah did the right thing leaving without telling Dominic?
  • Could Susannah have stood up for herself earlier and made the marriage work?
  • Was it a good decision for Mia and Ben to escape to France and another life?
  • Do you think Dominic was an egotist and a narcissist, or simply a product of his time?
  • Did Ben’s struggle to adapt to life in France highlight some of the potential difficulties of moving to a foreign country?
  • If you had the opportunity to live in another country for a few years, would you take it? Where would you go?
  • In what ways did the setting contribute to the story?
  • Do you think the book was character driven, or plot driven? Why?
  • Did your opinion of any of the characters change over the course of the story, and how?
  • What did you think about the dynamics between the characters?
  • If you were casting the film, who would you cast as Susannah and Dominic?
  • Do the themes of this book relate to any of the author’s other books? In what ways?

Feature Title

The Yellow Villa
A superbly crafted domestic drama from the author of The Olive Sisters and The French Perfumer.
Read more

More features

See all
Book clubs
The Tea Ladies book club questions

A book club read that’s perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.

Book clubs
Lovebirds book club notes

A pick for book club that's warm, witty and wise.

Book clubs
Sixty Summers book club notes

Take a journey through Europe with three friends as they retrace the steps of their 1978 backpacking trip.

Article
Didn't get to Europe this year? These 3 books will transport you there

Revisit three Amanda Hampson books to experience European summer from the comfort of your living room.

Article
My writing life

Amanda Hampson recalls her personal journey through reading, journalism and writing fiction.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

News
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

News
Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase

An exciting Penguin Random House author showcase on 9 August!

Article
Discover the new releases that book critics are loving this autumn

See what reviewers are saying about books published in April and May 2023.

Article
Is the reign of the cream sponge over?

Author Amanda Hampson reflects on her fond memories of this delightful cake.

Article
Why are we still in love with sixties fashion?

Amanda Hampson revisits the era in her upcoming novel, 'The Tea Ladies'.

Article
Female authors talk about the women writers who have inspired them

In honour of International Women’s Day, we asked female authors to talk about the women writers who have inspired them.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes