> Skip to content

Books to take you on a trip of a lifetime.

Do you know the limits of your comfort zone? And how far would you need to venture before you were truly testing these limits? Of course, some extraordinary journeys are taken for pleasure, others are undertaken out of necessity. So, depending on your circumstances, your motives and methods for escape may vary wildly. Here are some books celebrating extraordinary journeys, as told by the observers and participants themselves. 

  • The extraordinary adventure story of Ben Carlin, who circled the world, over land and sea, in his rusting amphibious jeep.

  • When Australian-based scientist Chris Turney’s expedition got stuck in the Antarctic ice in 2013, it brought global attention to the dangers of the world’s least-known continent – and its fragility. Turney tells his own dramatic tale against the backdrop of the compelling history of Antarctic exploration and inspired by fears for the continent’s future.

  • A hybrid of history, travel and journalism.

  • In Journey of a Thousand Storms Kooshyar Karimi, author of Leila’s Secret, tells his gripping personal story of surviving prison in Iran and life as a refugee before finding success in Australia.

  • For readers of The One-Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, a funny, charming, feel-good story about a fake fakir from India who arrives in France to shop at IKEA and unwittingly embarks on a European tour like no other.

  • The number one Sunday Times bestseller: Bill Bryson’s first travel book for fifteen years – a brand new journey around Britain.

  • An airline pilot captures the wonder of flight for the modern traveller. 'In Skyfaring Mark Vanhoenacker reveals his passion for flight...the meaningful geography of the skies and the scent of the cities he flies to... This mesmerising book will make you view the world differently' Sunday Times

  • The Girl Who Climbed Everest is the inspiring story of Alyssa Azar, an ordinary girl from country Queensland who worked to ascend the world’s highest peak – the youngest Australian ever to have achieved this extraordinary feat.

More Book Lists

From Kabul to Mexico and Beyond

Hairdresser, humanitarian and author: A guide to the many lives and books of Deborah Rodriguez.

Parody Pages

Giggle, snicker, cackle and snort your way through these books.

Head Space

Breathe, relax and find quiet enjoyment in the world.

The Final Frontier

Elevate your imagination to the stars… and beyond.

Horsing Around

Books to fire the spirits of the equine-inclined.

Start Your Engines

Buckle up and take a ride with these books about cars.