> Skip to content

Books where families form the heart of the story.

Most of us have got them, and everybody’s is different, so families make prime storytelling fodder. As readers we can find reflections of our own experiences, learn from the trials and mistakes of others, maybe even take pleasure in observing families less functional than our own. Honest, moving, funny and sometimes disturbing – here are some stories where family dynamics sit front and centre, and the narratives flow along with the twists and turns of the relationships within.

  • From the bestselling author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this perfectly crafted novel about families, relationships and the true nature of belonging.

  • A sweeping, ambitious novel about three generations of a privileged American family, and the secrets that bind them.

  • Manhattan's wealthy Upper East Side has its own rigid code of behaviour. One strictly adhered to by the Wilder-Bingham family.

  • A powerful and evocative literary thriller from a stunning new Australian voice, for fans of Donna Tartt and Alice Sebold.

  • An entertaining and touching story of the perils and pleasures of love, friendship and family, from one of Australia's most-loved authors

  • From his prison cell, Jasper Dean tells the unlikely story of his scheming father Martin, his crazy Uncle Terry and how the three of them upset - mostly unintentionally - an entire continent.

  • Telling the story of the rise and fall of the town of Macondo and the generations of the Buendia family who found and then become trapped in it, One Hundred Years of Solitude is both tragic and comic, intimate and epic.

  • Sonya Hartnett's third novel for adults is utterly compelling, an unflinching and disquieting work from one of Australia's finest writers.

  • This mesmerizing Australian novel has been a bestselling book around the world, and Hollywood movie rights were recently snapped up by Dreamworks, with David Heyman (Harry Potter) set to produce. It is the winner of three prestigious ABIA awards, including their 'Book of the Year', and also won the Indie Awards' 'Book of the Year'.

  • Anne Tyler is back! With a companion piece to her huge bestseller A Spool of Blue Thread -- shortlisted for the Booker and Bailey's, Richard & Judy pick, Waterstones Book of the Month

  • Reminiscent of Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn, this is a breakthrough novel from a humane and perceptive writer exploring the traumas that divide families and the love and hope that creates them.

  • Heart of the Grass Tree is an exquisite, searing and hope-filled debut about mothers and daughters and family stories, about country and its living history.

  • A funny and heartwarming novel about four very different grandmothers, from the bestselling author of The Cleaner of Chartres.

More Book Lists

ABR Fan Poll Winners Announced

Three Penguin Random House novels honoured among the Australian Book Review’s fan favourites.

Breaking the Shackles

Stories real and imagined about the moral cost of slavery, and its implications on humanity.

Summer Projects

Get active this holiday season with entertaining, educational, practical projects.

Bring the LOLs

Try to keep a straight face – we dare you.

Summer Lovin'

Treat yourself to a summer fling – of the novel kind, of course.

Understanding Us

Books that explain the myriad intricacies of what makes humans human.