> Skip to content

Books where families form the heart of the story.

Most of us have got them, and everybody’s is different, so families make prime storytelling fodder. As readers we can find reflections of our own experiences, learn from the trials and mistakes of others, maybe even take pleasure in observing families less functional than our own. Honest, moving, funny and sometimes disturbing – here are some stories where family dynamics sit front and centre, and the narratives flow along with the twists and turns of the relationships within.

  • From the bestselling author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this perfectly crafted novel about families, relationships and the true nature of belonging.

  • A sweeping, ambitious novel about three generations of a privileged American family, and the secrets that bind them.

  • Manhattan's wealthy Upper East Side has its own rigid code of behaviour. One strictly adhered to by the Wilder-Bingham family.

  • A powerful and evocative literary thriller from a stunning new Australian voice, for fans of Donna Tartt and Alice Sebold.

  • An entertaining and touching story of the perils and pleasures of love, friendship and family, from one of Australia's most-loved authors

  • From his prison cell, Jasper Dean tells the unlikely story of his scheming father Martin, his crazy Uncle Terry and how the three of them upset - mostly unintentionally - an entire continent.

  • Telling the story of the rise and fall of the town of Macondo and the generations of the Buendia family who found and then become trapped in it, One Hundred Years of Solitude is both tragic and comic, intimate and epic.

  • Sonya Hartnett's third novel for adults is utterly compelling, an unflinching and disquieting work from one of Australia's finest writers.

  • This mesmerizing Australian novel has been a bestselling book around the world, and Hollywood movie rights were recently snapped up by Dreamworks, with David Heyman (Harry Potter) set to produce. It is the winner of three prestigious ABIA awards, including their 'Book of the Year', and also won the Indie Awards' 'Book of the Year'.

  • A bittersweet novel of family and self-discovery from the Sunday Times bestselling, award-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread

  • Reminiscent of Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn, this is a breakthrough novel from a humane and perceptive writer exploring the traumas that divide families and the love and hope that creates them.

  • Heart of the Grass Tree is an exquisite, searing and hope-filled debut about mothers and daughters and family stories, about country and its living history.

More Book Lists

Stranger Days

Get to the bottom of the Upside Down and all the other Stranger Things.

Multimedia Mashups

Where podcasts, interviews, documentaries and books collide.

Read Your Way to the Moon

Celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing with books that are out of this world.

14 Science Books for Kids

Including action-packed projects, awe-inspiring images and fascinating facts!

Ramble On

Books that celebrate the benefits of walking, wheeling and running.

Chernobyl Files

The Ukrainian town that became emblematic of humanity’s worst collective nightmares.