> Skip to content

Article  •  30 June 2022

 

Love Dolly Alderton? This is what you should read after Everything I Know About Love

Wondering what to read after Everything I Know About Love? If you’re a fan of Dolly Alderton’s first book, then you’ll love her second book: Ghosts. Learn all about it and discover more similar titles.

If you’re a fan of Everything I Know About Lovethen you need to add Ghosts, Dolly Alderton’s second book, to your TRB list immediately.

Ghosts by Dolly Alderton

 While Everything I Know About Love is a memoir, Ghosts tells the fictional story of one woman trying to fight her way through the weeds of dating in her early thirties.

Just like the ideal partner, this novel is charming, smart, and full of excitement. Though it’s not a thriller by any means, this story of new love is suspenseful enough to keep you reading well past bedtime.

With her signature sharp writing style, Dolly uses this fictional story to shine a light on the anomalies of modern-age romance.

Following the main character, Nina Dean, the book peels back the layers of adulthood while challenging our perceptions of it. Nina had expected her thirties to be liberating and uncomplicated, but when she finds herself caught in many sticky situations, she sees that her preconceptions couldn’t be further from the truth.

As she navigates friendships, family relationships, and romance, Nina learns that things aren’t always what they seem. 

Not just in love – but in life.

Since its initial 2020 release date, Ghosts has received a myriad of praise from fellow authors and critics alike:

  • ‘A few years ago, Alderton seamlessly taped into our psyches with her 2018 memoir Everything I Know About Love. Now she's back with that same signature wit and blistering honesty in her debut novel, Ghosts’ – Cosmopolitan
  • ‘Utter BRILLIANCE. Dolly is such an insightful commentator on love, longing, friendship and emotional landscapes. I absolutely LOVED it!’ – Marian Keyes, author of Rachel’s Holiday
  • ‘A stunning achievement: I was laughing out loud, doing my best a few minutes later not to burst into tears and then angry that it had all come to an end. So moving, so funny, so beautifully written and so poignant. Brilliant’ – Stanley Tucci

 

Once you finish Ghosts, you might also like

 

My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh

 

The Panic Years by Nell Frizzell

 

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

 

Conversations on Love by Natasha Lunn

 

Book Lovers by Emily Henry

 

Love Everything I Know About Love? Take this quiz to find your 2022 love prediction, based on the book. 

More features

See all
Article
5 Inspirational quotes from Lessons in Chemistry that will stick with you

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus is packed full of wisdom. Check out five of the many inspirational quotes from the book.

Article
Did you know: Ottessa Moshfegh walked the runway, and 8 more fun facts

9 interesting facts about Ottessa Moshfegh, author of Lapvona.

Article
What to read next based on your favourite coffee order

We all need a little help choosing our next read sometimes. This time, we've got you sorted!

Article
10 amazing fun facts about Dolly Alderton

Learn about her favourite sandwich, hair advice, and career journey thus far.

Article
Article
What you should read next based on your fave Netflix shows

Done binging the latest TV sensation? Pick up a book and keep the good times rolling. 

Book clubs
Lessons in Chemistry book club questions

A Sunday Times bestseller and BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick.

Article
A useful guide to reading Elizabeth Strout’s Lucy Barton books

Learn about Elizabeth Strout's Lucy Barton books in honour of her Booker prize longlist nomination for Oh William! Learn more about the series and the order in which we recommend reading the four books.

Article
6 reasons to join a choir, according to Meg Bignell’s new book

Learn why you should join a choir and find a choir near you.

Article
7 locations from Sixty-Seven Days readers can visit in real life

These 7 real locations from Sixty-Seven Days are the perfect places to visit while reading the book. Immerse yourself in this romantic drama by exploring the same places the characters visit in the novel.

Article
Author shares the touching reason for new novel’s rural Queensland setting

Clare Fletcher talks about her new book, Five Bush Weddings, and why she chose a country setting for this unmissable debut novel.

Article
QUIZ: Which Emily Henry book should you read?

If you're a fan of contemporary romance with humour and wit, you've probably heard of Emily Henry - find out which of her novels you should pick up with this handy quiz!

Looking for more articles?

See all articles