> Skip to content

Article  •  16 April 2024

 

Books recommended by Marian Keyes

If you love Marian Keyes, you might also enjoy these books. See the titles she’s praised publicly and get ready to add them to your ‘must read’ list.

There’s no denying that Marian Keyes is a literary genius. With over 30 million copies of her books sold, it’s fair to say that she understands the craft of writing. But if you’ve already torn through all of her books, what will you read next?

Thankfully for us all, Marian is also an avid reader who often sings the praises of other books.

Check out some of the books she’s given rave reviews for – you might just find a new favourite on this list.

Marian Keyes’s book recommendations

The Husbands by Holly Gramazio book cover

The Husbands by Holly Gramazio

Look closely, and you’ll spot a quote from Marian Keyes on the front cover of this book.

The Husbands follows a woman named Lauren who discovers that her attic is creating an endless supply of husbands. Fun, funny and totally unique, this debut is sure to blow you away.

Marian calls it ‘WONDERFUL: fresh, original, hugely entertaining and oddly comforting . . . I laughed out loud countless times . . . the most fun I've had reading in the longest time. It is an utter delight.’

We all want impossible things by Catherine Newman book cover.

We All Want Impossible Things by Catherine Newman

If you’re looking for a book that will make you burst out laughing one moment and sob the next, then We All Want Impossible Things is for you. Edi and Ash have been best friends for over forty years, so when Edi is diagnosed with cancer, Ash’s world also changes. From music therapy to smuggled excursions, the duo learns to squeeze the joy out of every moment. Of the book, Marian says: ‘Breezy New York Nora-Ephron-style wit meets hospice memoir to create something profoundly beautiful . . . comforting, so funny, moving but never mawkish and packed with all kinds of love. It's one of my favourite books ever.’

Good Material by Dolly Alderton book cover.

Good Material by Dolly Alderton

It seems like everyone loves Dolly Alderton’s writing – and Marian Keyes is no exception! In fact, she loved Dolly’s latest book, Good Material, so much that she shared it with her 179K Instagram followers. In addition to calling it ‘WONDERFUL’, Marian also awarded Good Material 13/10 on her ‘QWJ scale (Stands for Queasy With Jealousy That I Didn’t Write It scale).

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Marian Keyes (@marian_keyes)

Everything I Know About Love book cover.

Everything I Know About Love by Dolly Alderton

Like most Dolly Alderton fans, Marian also enjoyed Everything I Know About Love, Dolly’s memoir about growing up, falling in love, and – most of all – friendship. ‘I loved it so much,’ says Keyes. ‘I wanted it to go on forever, Dolly Alderton is so gifted at making people care. A rare talent.’

The List of Suspicious Things by Jennie Godfrey book cover.

The List of Suspicious Things by Jennie Godfrey

Another 2024 debut, The List of Suspicious Things is perfect for fans of Elizabeth is Missing and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time. The book follows a young girl named Miv who is convinced that her dad wants to move their family South, leaving behind Yorkshire and her best friend, Sharon. Believing that her dad’s reasoning is related to the murders, Miv teams up with Sharon to make a list of all the suspicious people and things on their street. Along the way, they uncover more mysteries than they set out to solve. If you like fast-paced mysteries, then you’ll enjoy it. ‘I absolutely adore it!’ says Marian.

Welcome to Glorious Tuga book cover.

Welcome to Glorious Tuga by Francesca Segal

Dubbed, ‘the destination read of 2024’, Welcome to Glorious Tuga is the escape we all need! London vet Charlotte Walker has taken up a fellowship on the remote island of Tuga de Oro to study endangered tortoises in the jungle interior . . . but she also has an ulterior motive. With a secret that connects her to the island, she’s determined to finally solve a huge mystery in her life – unless the inconveniently attractive island doctor, Dan Zerki, gets in her way. 'A magical novel, so uplifting, heartwarming, funny . . . I cannot TELL you how much I adored it!’ says Marian. ‘This feels as if it was written specifically to give comfort – the perfect antidote to current climes.’

Featured Titles

The Husbands
A brilliantly original, funny and astute debut that examines how we navigate life, love and choice in a world of never-ending options
Read more
We All Want Impossible Things
'One of my favourite books ever' Marian Keyes; 'Dazzling' Rachel Joyce; 'You'll devour every word' Katherine Heiny; for fans of Nora Ephron and Sorrow and Bliss, a heart-wrenching, laugh-out-loud celebration of friendship at its imperfect and radiant best.
Read more
Good Material
Every relationship has one beginning. This one has two endings.
Read more
Everything I Know About Love
The wildly funny Sunday Times bestseller about growing up and navigating all kinds of love along the way
Read more
The List of Suspicious Things
A clever and moving debut perfect for fans of Elizabeth is Missing and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Read more
Welcome to Glorious Tuga
THE DESTINATION READ OF 2024. Your paradise awaits ...
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Generate a husband

Generate a husband in honour of Holly Gramazio’s debut novel, The Husbands.

Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
Penguin picks: 6 employees share their favourite books of 2023

See what Penguin Random House employees chose as their favourite books of the year.

Article
QUIZ: Which book should you read this summer?

Take this quiz to discover what your summer read should be in 2023.

Article
How 7 designers created the most beautiful book covers of 2022

We talked to some of our graphic designers to learn more about the amazing book covers they created this year. Find out what runs through the mind of a designer as they bring a book to life through design.

Article
10 amazing fun facts about Dolly Alderton

Learn about her favourite sandwich, hair advice, and career journey thus far.

Article
Article
15 beach reads to enjoy this summer

See some of the best beach reads of 2023. Fiction, non-fiction, and children’s books, there’s something from every genre to enjoy.

Recipe
Sicilian Lemon Polenta Pound Cake

A delicious sweet treat that pairs perfectly with the book it was inspired by – straight from the author's kitchen.

Article
What readers are saying about $10 Meals with Chelsea

Chelsea Goodwin, the creator behind the $10 Meals Australia Facebook group, has released a cookbook full of incredible budget eats. See what readers are saying!

Article
Maxine Fawcett on the myth of the ‘perfect mother’

Ahead of Mother’s Day, author of Everything is Perfect, Maxine Fawcett, shares how she has come to embrace the imperfections of motherhood.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles