> Skip to content

Article  •  13 March 2024

 

CBCA Book of the Year Notables 2024

5 Penguin books have made the Notables list this year. Learn more about them here.

Each year the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) celebrates the best children’s books of the year. But before the winners are announced, the CBCA announces a list of Notables – similar to a longlist.

This year, Penguin Random House has five books on the Notables list. Keep scrolling to learn more about them.

Book of the year: older readers

Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer book cover.

Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer by Amy Doak

This fast-paced YA murder mystery follows a girl who has just started at her ninth school in less than five years. Just days after she starts at her new school, a shocking crime takes place – and the last message on the victim’s phone is from Eleanor. When she realises that the police don’t have all the facts, Eleanor assembles an eclectic crew of fellow students to help her solve the mystery. She might learn the meaning of true friendship along the way.

 

This Time It's Real book cover.

This Time It’s Real by Ann Liang

When seventeen-year-old Eliza Lin’s essay about meeting the love of her life goes viral, her life changes overnight. But there’s just one catch . . . she made the entire thing up. Eliza has never been in a relationship before, let alone in love. To keep her cover, Eliza makes a deal with a famous actor who will pretend to be her boyfriend in exchange for help with his college applications. But what will happen when the relationship starts feeling a little too real?

 

Book of the year: younger readers

Being Jimmy Baxter book cover.

Being Jimmy Baxter by Fiona Lloyd

Things aren’t going easy for Jimmy Baxter. His mum has stopped going to work, there are no eggs in the fridge (or anything else), and there’s a whole lot of trouble called Duke. Fellow children’s author, Morris Gleitzman, has called it ‘a moving story told with moments of absolute delight.’ This powerful coming-of-age novel is a must-read for middle-grade children.

 

Scar Town book cover.

Scar Town by Tristan Bancks  

From bestselling author Tristan Bancks comes this gripping story about three friends on a dangerous mission to uncover the truth. Seven years after Old Scarborough was drowned, a house emerges from the water. Will and his friends dare each other to explore it, but when they find bones and a stash of cash, they realise they aren’t the only ones interested in the house’s secrets. Even though it means fighting for his life against the men who want what they found, Will can’t leave the mystery alone. What if the bones belong to his missing dad?

 

Book of the year: early childhood

When I'm Big book cover.

When I’m Big by Karen Blair

This gorgeous picture book is a warm-hearted celebration of becoming a sibling. With gorgeous illustrations and its beautifully told story, this picture book will be a favourite when welcoming a new baby to the family – and long after.

Featured Titles

Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer
Karen McManus and Holly Jackson meets Fleur Ferris in this fast-paced YA murder mystery.
Read more
This Time It's Real
Get ready to fall in love in this hilarious romcom about a girl who begins a fake relationship with the famous actor in her class, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.
Read more
Being Jimmy Baxter
A gently funny yet powerful coming-of-age middle grade novel about surviving the odds, unlikely friendships and the magical music of Elvis.
Read more
Scar Town
A missing father. A drowned town. A buried secret. Three friends on a dangerous mission to uncover the truth.
Read more
When I'm Big
'Sometimes you pick up a book that has the power to take you well beyond its pages - and this book is one of those.' Barbara Braxton, The Bottom Shelf 'A perfect book for any child about to welcome a new baby into the family . . . beautifully told . . . and lots of fun.' Good Reading A CBCA Notable Book.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Debut authors share their best tips for aspiring authors

The Fresh Voices of 2023 share their advice with fellow writers. Whether you’re aspiring to get your book published or looking for writing tips, these words of wisdom will help.

Article
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Article
The rare success of one author's open submission

An author and editor share the unique publication story of Amy Doak's debut novel, Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer.

Article
Celebrating 100,000 copies sold of 'Two Wolves'

We caught up with children's author Tristan Bancks to talk about reaching this exciting milestone, his writing process, and what fans can expect from him next.

Article
The 10 most anticipated YA books of 2023

Check out 10 of the most-anticipated YA books to read in 2023. Trust us, add them to your TBR now!

Article
QUIZ: Which YA book should you ask for this Christmas?

Take this quiz to find out which YA book you should put on your wishlist this year.

Article
If you liked This Time It’s Real, you’ll love Ann Liang’s new book

Learn more about Ann Liang’s new book, I Hope This Doesn’t Find You.

Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Article
Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2023

Discover some of the best Penguin Random House books of 2023 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

Article
Tristan Bancks shares the number one skill he learned from his teachers

We recently caught up with Tristan to learn more about Cop & Robber and the influences that shaped his writing.

Article
The greatest middle grade books of 2022

Gripping new stories for ages 8–12.

News
2024 ABIAs shortlist announced

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted for the ABIAs in 2024. The winners will be announced on 9 May 2024.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles