> Skip to content

News  •  24 April 2020


2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

Tara June Winch has won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the Book of the Year.

We are thrilled to announce that The Yield by Tara June Winch has won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction, the Book of the Year and the People’s Choice Award at the 2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievements by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included notable writers like Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Tom Keneally AO and Helen Garner. 

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Create NSW at an online ceremony on Sunday 26 April. A total of $295,000 was awarded across 12 prize categories. 

Find out more about The Yield and read an extract here

The Yield Tara June Winch

Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award.Winner, Book of the Year, People's Choice, Christina Stead Prize for Fiction at NSW Premier's Literary Award.Shortlisted for the Stella Prize.Shortlisted for the VPLA.Just tell the truth and someone will hear it eventually.

Buy now
Buy now

Looking for more news?

See all news