> Skip to content

News  •  18 November 2021


The Yield wins Kate Challis RAKA 2021 Award

A huge congratulations to Wiradjuri writer Tara June Winch on her recent achievement.

We are thrilled to announce that Tara June Winch's 2019 novel The Yield has won the Kate Challis RAKA 2021 Award.

The Kate Challis Ruth Adeney Koori Award, or RAKA, which means 'five' in the Pintupi language, is worth $20,000 and is awarded to an Indigenous artist in one of five categories annually, including: creative prose, poetry, script writing, drama and visual arts.

The award joins a long list of accolades for Winch which includes winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award; winner of Book of the Year, People's Choice and the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction in the NSW Premier's Literary Awards; shortlisted for the Stella Prize and shortlisted for the VPLA.

'I'm a Wiradjuri woman, who grew up on Dtharawal country. I want to acknowledge the Country on which you read these words, and acknowledge my fellow writers whose beloved work was published in the last five years,' Winch said.

'I also want to recognise those writers commended, my mentors, colleagues and friends – Tony Birch, Melissa Lucashenko and Kim Scott. I feel as if I'm only still at the beginning of my career as an interrogator and questioner of the past, present and future of ourselves and our nation, so it is a distinction that I will endeavour to work to, and pay respect to, in my ensuing works and years.

'I hope I can live up to this great honour. I'm thankful to the late Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith and I'm touched by his adoration for his wife's Kata Challis' work and life, and feel deeply moved to join the incredible lists of fellow First Nation artists and writers commended and bestowed with this prize.'

Profoundly moving and exquisitely written, The Yield is the story of a people and a culture dispossessed. But it is as much a celebration of what was and what endures, and a powerful reclaiming of Indigenous language, storytelling and identity. Get started with an extract here


Feature Title

The Yield: Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award
Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award. Winner, Book of the Year, People's Choice, Christina Stead Prize for Fiction at NSW Premier's Literary Award. Shortlisted for the Stella Prize. Shortlisted for the VPLA. Just tell the truth and someone will hear it eventually.
Read more

More features

See all
The 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Is…

We’re thrilled to share that Wiradjuri author Tara June Winch’s The Yield has won the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

Tara June Winch has won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the Book of the Year.

6 books that will show you a new side of Australian history

These six books will deepen your understanding of our country’s past by showing you a different side of Australian history.

The best new books for high school students

Keep the classroom engaged with these new books for teens.

Yindyamarra (respect): say it out loud

Tara June Winch discusses the creation of her 2019 novel The Yield, and the power embedded in Indigenous language.

Language is life

In The Yield, Tara June Winch explores how every word is embedded with stories.

Book clubs
The Yield book club notes

Add the profoundly moving and exquisitely written book, The Yield, to your book club's reading list.

2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award shortlist announced

Here Goes Nothing by Steve Totlz has been awarded the $1,000 Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize.

2022 Booker Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2022 Booker Prize has been announced, with two Penguin Random House novels named this year.

2022 Davitt Awards winners announced

The Davitt Awards recognise Australian women crime writers. See the Penguin Random House book that won this year.

Looking for more news?

See all news