> Skip to content

News  •  17 March 2020


Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the 2020 instalment of the $20,000 Penguin Literary Prize.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Morna Seres, Cloud Failure
  • Mick McCoy, Catch a Panther 
  • Sophie Overett, The Rabbits
  • Rachel Watts, In the Morning I Rise
  • Katelin Farnsworth, Found Again
  • Hayley Scrivenor, The Push Back

The 2020 winner will be announced on 17 June.

The PRH Literary Prize, launched in 2017, was established to find, nurture and develop new Australian authors of literary fiction. Previous winners include Hitch by Kathryn Hind, published June 2019, and The Spill by Imbi Neeme, to be published June 2020.

Of the 2020 entries, Justin Ractliffe, Publishing Director at Penguin Random House Australia, commented: ‘This year we’ve set a new record for submissions to the prize – over 400 entries representing all states and territories. Congratulations to everyone who entered and particular congratulations to our six shortlisted authors, just to make it this far is a huge achievement. I’m very much looking forward to working with our amazing panel of judges to read and discuss the work of these brilliant new writers.'

Looking for more news?

See all news