> Skip to content

News  •  12 March 2021


Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We're thrilled to reveal the shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

The shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize, worth $20 000, has been announced.

Congratulations to the following shortlisted authors:

  • Jane Carrick, So Far No Father
  • Alicia Carter, Songs at the End
  • Patrick Forrest, What I Am To You
  • Madeleine Streater, Summer Animals
  • James McKenzie Watson, Denizen
  • Jacqueline Wright, The Beauty and the Menace

Justin Ractliffe, Publishing Director of PRH Australia said, 'The Penguin Literary Prize goes from strength to strength, this year the standard of entries was so high it was very difficult to get down to our six shortlisted authors. A huge congratulations to the shortlistees, I’m excited to read the manuscripts and discuss them with our fantastic panel of judges, all of whom are raring to go. It’s always a thrill to read new work and to give unpublished writers the opportunity to get their work out there. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us in 2021.'

The winner will be announced by Penguin Random House Australia on 17 June.

The PRH Literary Prize, launched in 2017, was established to find, nurture and develop new Australian authors of literary fiction. Previous winners include Hitch by Kathryn Hind, published June 2019, and The Spill by Imbi Neeme, published June 2020 and The Rabbits by Sophie Overett to be published July 2021.

More features

See all
2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence longlist

We're thrilled to have 14 books featured on the longlist.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021 winner announced

And the winner is... James McKenzie Watson!

The Queen's Birthday Honours 2021

Penguin Random House authors and publisher Julie Watts recognised in this year's list.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

Penguin Literary Prize 2020 winner announced

And the winner is... Sophie Overett!

Bluey: the Beach wins 2020 ABIA Book of the Year

For the first time, a children’s picture book has won the Australian Book Industry Awards prestigious Book of the Year prize.

2020 ABIAs shortlist

Winners to be announced on Wednesday 13 May.

Sophie Overett Q&A

The Penguin Literary Prize winner on inspiration, advice and what's next.

Imbi Neeme Q&A

The 2019 Penguin Literary Prize winner on her inspiration, writing process and club sandwiches.

Book clubs
The Spill book club notes

Explore the cycles of love, loss and regret, that can follow a family through the years, with your reading group.

Looking for more news?

See all news