> Skip to content

News  •  17 June 2021


Penguin Literary Prize 2021 winner announced

And the winner is... James McKenzie Watson!

Penguin Random House Australia is thrilled to announce Denizen by Dubbo-based James McKenzie Watson as the winner of the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

Chosen from 240 submissions, Watson said of his win, ‘I know it’s a cliché but winning the Penguin Literary Prize is a dream come true – I still can’t quite believe it’s happened. To have been awarded this prize for a novel that contains so much of my heart and soul is an astounding privilege, and I’m so grateful to PRH for this incredible recognition.

‘I’m thrilled too by the investment this represents in stories about regional Australia and honoured by the opportunity to engage with a wide audience on this subject. I’m so excited to work with the wonderful team at PRH and bring this novel into the world.’

Denizen was selected from a highly talented shortlist, and the judging panel included Justin Ractliffe and Meredith Curnow from PRH Australia; Simon McDonald, PRH ABA Young Bookseller of the Year, from Potts Point Bookshop; Molly Murn from Matilda Bookshop; and Jaye Chin-Dusting from Mary Martin Bookshop.

Justin Ractliffe, Publishing Director of PRH Australia, said, ‘The judging process was an absolute pleasure. There was robust, thought-provoking debate and all the shortlisted titles were thoroughly examined and hotly contested. In the end we had to pick a winner and I’m delighted that it is James McKenzie Watson’s Denizen.

‘It’s a raw and powerful piece of outback gothic that fearlessly tackles some big issues and wraps them up in a twisty psychological thriller that draws the reader inexorably towards a devastating climax. It’s a Venus flytrap of a book. Huge congratulations to James and to all the shortlisted authors – the fact that it was such a hard decision is testimony to the quality of the writing. Thank you to our brilliant judges for their time, passion and commitment to the Penguin Literary Prize.’

Judge Simon McDonald said of the winning submission, ‘Denizen is a novel everyone will be talking about. It’s equal parts gripping, devastating and gut-wrenching as it tackles a myriad of meaty themes including fatherhood, mental illness, and the ruggedness of rural Australia – both its people and the landscape. It’s one part literary thriller, another part psychological study, blended powerfully and uncompromisingly. I can’t wait to read it again in its final, polished form.’

James will be awarded $20,000, with Denizen to be published by Meredith Curnow, Publisher, Penguin Random House Australia in 2022. The next round of submissions for the PRH Literary Prize will open later this year.

Now in its fourth year, the Penguin Literary Prize was launched to find, nurture and develop new Australian authors of literary fiction. Since its inception, the prize has received submissions from across Australia in a variety of genres and forms. Previous winners include Hitch by Kathryn Hind, published June 2019; The Spill by Imbi Neeme, published June 2020; and The Rabbits by Sophie Overett, to be published July 2021.

More features

See all
2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award shortlist announced

Here Goes Nothing by Steve Totlz has been awarded the $1,000 Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize.

2022 Booker Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2022 Booker Prize has been announced, with two Penguin Random House novels named this year.

2022 Davitt Awards winners announced

The Davitt Awards recognise Australian women crime writers. See the Penguin Random House book that won this year.

2022 Ned Kelly Awards Winners Announced

The Ned Kelly Awards recognise and celebrate the very best crime writing has to offer. See which Penguin Random House books won this year.

2022 Davitt Awards shortlist announced

The Davitt Awards recognise Australian women crime writers. See which books made the shortlist this year.

2022 Ned Kelly Shortlist Announced

The Ned Kelly Awards recognise and celebrate the very best crime writing has to offer. See which Penguin Random House books have been shortlisted this year...

Penguin Random House wins Publisher of the Year

Penguin Random House was named Publisher of the Year at the 2022 Australian Book Industry Awards. Thank you to all of the authors, agents, booksellers, suppliers, staff and our amazing readers who made it possible. 

2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

The Yield wins Kate Challis RAKA 2021 Award

A huge congratulations to Wiradjuri writer Tara June Winch on her recent achievement.

2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence longlist

We're thrilled to have 14 books featured on the longlist.

Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2022

Discover the best Penguin Random House books of 2022 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

A useful guide to reading Elizabeth Strout’s Lucy Barton books

Learn about Elizabeth Strout's Lucy Barton books in honour of her Booker prize longlist nomination for Oh William! Learn more about the series and the order in which we recommend reading the four books.

Looking for more news?

See all news