> Skip to content

News  •  16 March 2019


Penguin Literary Prize winner announced

We are delighted to announce the winner for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize.

The Penguin Literary Prize launched in July 2017 and in the two years since has received an incredible number of submissions. Over 400 manuscripts were submitted for the prize in 2019 and it is with great delight that we reveal The Spill, by Imbi Neeme from Victoria, as the winning submission.

In 1981, a car overturns on a remote West Australian road. Nobody is hurt, but the impact is felt for decades. The Spill explores how two people never experience or remember the same event in the same way – especially when they are sisters.

Of the Award, and her win, Neeme said, 'As an emerging writer it means so much to me to have been read, considered and, ultimately, selected for this incredible prize.

Following years of stealing whatever time I could to write – often with children hanging off me like Christmas baubles – this prize acknowledges and legitimises my writing in an invaluable way. I am thrilled to be working with the Penguin Random House Australia team to turn my hopeful manuscript into one of those books'.

The Spill was selected from an incredibly strong pool, the judging panel included Nikki Christer and Meredith Curnow from Penguin Random House Australia and Ruth Hipwell, Dr Tim Jarvis and Katherine Woehlert representing Leading Edge Books.

Nikki Christer, Group Publishing Director, Penguin Random House said, 'It has been thrilling to see the quality and range of unpublished manuscripts and writers the Prize has delivered. We are so proud and honoured to publish all of the writers across our Penguin Random House imprints and we are delighted to introduce Imbi Neeme to our literary list'.

For her win, Imbi will be awarded $20,000, with The Spill to be published by Meredith Curnow, Publisher, Penguin Random House Australia in 2020. The next round of submissions for the Penguin Literary Prize will open later this year.

More features

See all
2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021 winner announced

And the winner is... James McKenzie Watson!

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We're thrilled to reveal the shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

Penguin Literary Prize 2020 winner announced

And the winner is... Sophie Overett!

Michelle Obama documentary, Becoming, released on 6 May

Netflix have announced a new documentary following Michelle Obama during the publication of her bestselling memoir, Becoming, which will be released on Wednesday 6 May.

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the 2020 instalment of the $20,000 Penguin Literary Prize.

The Chestnut Man to become Netflix Original series

We were thrilled to hear Netflix announce its second Danish original series, The Chestnut Man, at Copenhagen TV Festival this week.

Announcing The Beautiful Ones by Prince

To be published October 2019. 

Sophie Overett Q&A

The Penguin Literary Prize winner on inspiration, advice and what's next.

Imbi Neeme Q&A

The 2019 Penguin Literary Prize winner on her inspiration, writing process and club sandwiches.

Book clubs
The Spill book club notes

Explore the cycles of love, loss and regret, that can follow a family through the years, with your reading group.

Looking for more news?

See all news