> Skip to content

Article  •  11 October 2022

 

If you like this, read that

Find out what you should read next, based on books you already like.

Don’t know what to read next? Think about the books you already like to guide your next pick. Below, we’ve chosen a few tried-and-tested favourites and provided recommendations for similar reads for guaranteed enjoyment. Happy reading!

If you like Gild, read Ledge

A side-by-side photo of the Gild book cover and Ledge book cover.

If you enjoyed Gild then we have a feeling you’d love Ledge. This high-intensity fantasy is the beginning of a trilogy that follows Dawson, a resident of The Ledge who has been randomly selected as a human sacrifice. When the fates align and she manages to escape, Dawson must journey down the slopes of the sheer chasm where her people are trapped in an attempt to save them all.

 

If you like The Body Keeps the Scoreread The Myth of Normal

A side-by-side photo of The Body Keeps the Score book cover and The Myth of Normal book cover.

Like The Body Keeps the Score, The Myth of Normal explores how trauma affects us in modern life. Focusing on personal suffering, the author, Dr Gabor Maté shows how personal disease is a natural reflection of the high-pressure lives we have become accustomed to. Co-written with his son, Maté uses his own life story to illuminate a path toward healing. 

 

If you like Life After Life, read Shrines of Gaiety

A side-by-side photo of the Life After Life book cover and Shrines of Gaiety book cover.

If you liked Kate Atkinson’s Life After Lifethen you’ll love Shrines of Gaiety. Much like her other books, Shrines of Gaiety perfectly exemplifies Atkinson’s skilful writing and ability to craft uncanny characters. Set in post-war London, the book follows Nellie Coker, the queen of the dark and dazzling Soho clubs.  

 

If you like Stay Awakeread The Butcher and the Wren

A side-by-side photo of the Stay Awake book cover and The Butcher and the Wren book cover.

Enjoy thrillers like Stay Awake? Then The Butcher and the Wren should be your next read. Written by Alaina Urquhart, the host of the True Crime podcast Morbid, this is a chilling crime read that will send shivers up your spine. In the Louisiana bayou, a methodical killer is about to complete his most harrowing crime yet. Forensic pathologist Dr Wren Muller is determined to stop him, but will she solve the case in time?

 

If you like Ottolenghi SIMPLEread Ottolenghi Test Kitchen: Extra Good Things

A side-by-side photo of the Ottolenghi Simple book cover and Ottolenghi Test Kitchen: Extra Good Things book cover.

If Ottolenghi SIMPLE has become your favourite kitchen companion, then we have a feeling you’ll want to add Ottolenghi Test Kitchen: Extra Good Things to your collection. Written by Yotam Ottolenghi and Noor Murad, the book brings next-level flavour to even the most basic meals. Whether it’s tamarind dressing on turmeric eggs or harissa butter on a roasted mushroom, the dishes inside will make your mouth water.  

 

Want even more recommendations? Check out the books that book clubs are loving.

Featured Titles

Gild: The Plated Prisoner Series Vol 1
Gild is first book in The Plated Prisoner - the 44M view Tik Tok Fantasy phenomenon. It follows Auren - the woman King Midas turned to gold - as she escapes the King and faces fearsome enemies, and her own demons, to find her voice
Read more
Ledge
In a place known as The Ledge, a civilization is trapped by a vast chasm and sheer mountain face. There is no way for anyone to escape the frozen wasteland without befalling a deathly drop. They know nothing of the outside world except that it is where The Glacians reside – mystical winged creatures who bring them meagre rations to survive, in exchange for a periodic human sacrifice.

Dawsyn, axe wielder and only remaining member of her family, has so far avoided the annual culling, but her luck has run out. She is chosen and ripped from her icy home, the only world she knows. No one knows what will happen to her on the other side, least of all Dawsyn. Murdered? Enslaved? Worse?

Thankfully, the fates align and Dawsyn manages to escape their clutches with the help of a half-Glacian called Ryon. But trust does not come easily, and she keeps a trained axe to his throat while they journey together down the slopes. But who’s to say that the life below will be any better than the one she has run from?

*Content warnings* gratuitous violence & death; death of a minor; suicide; attempted sexual assault
Read more
The Body Keeps the Score
A world expert presents a sympathetic exploration of the causes of trauma and the new treatments making it possible for sufferers to reclaim their lives
Read more
The Myth of Normal
A book that changes everything – from the legendary Dr Gabor Maté
Read more
Life After Life
Tie-in edition of the bestselling, Costa Award-winning novel; now a major four part BBC1 Drama series starring Thomasin McKenzie, Sian Clifford and James McArdle.
Read more
Shrines of Gaiety
From the inimitable bestselling author, Kate Atkinson, a mesmerising novel set in the glittering world of Soho in the 1920s - a place of gangsters and showgirls, Bright Young Things and one remarkable woman.
Read more
Stay Awake
The heart-stopping new thriller from the Australian author who has taken the world by storm. A complex thriller that unfolds at a breakneck speed, Stay Awake will keep you up all night.
Read more
The Butcher and the Wren
An instant #2 New York Times bestseller: the addictive and chilling debut thriller from the co-host of True Crime podcast Morbid
Read more
Ottolenghi SIMPLE
130 brilliantly simple, brand-new recipes from the bestselling author of Plenty, Plenty More, Jerusalem and Ottolenghi: The Cookbook.
Read more
Ottolenghi Test Kitchen: Extra Good Things
Bring an Ottolenghi twist to every mealtime with the new book in the bestselling Ottolenghi Test Kitchen series.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
The 10 bestselling non-fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling non-fiction books this year.

Article
Penguin Fantasy Fest was a magical night for fantasy fans and authors

The inaugural Penguin Fantasy Fest was a wonderful evening for all. Learn about the author panel, see photos of the event and find out how to be notified of future events.

Article
10 sweet and savoury recipes to celebrate World Baking Day

Learn about World Baking Day 2023 and check out delicious recipes to inspire

Article
How 7 designers created the most beautiful book covers of 2022

We talked to some of our graphic designers to learn more about the amazing book covers they created this year. Find out what runs through the mind of a designer as they bring a book to life through design.

Article
7 fun facts about Gabor Maté

Learn about Gabor Maté and his new book, The Myth of Normal.

Article
The best books to revisit with your book club this year

Did you forget about these books after adding them to your TBR list? It's time to revisit these favourites, perfect for book clubs.

Article
11 fun facts about Gild by Raven Kennedy

Everything you need to know about TikTok’s most hyped fantasy series.

Article
5 key ways to re-establish control of your body and mind after trauma

Bessel Van der Kolk provides some key guidance on how to reclaim your life after trauma in his insightful book, The Body Keeps the Score.

Article
Catch these authors at Australia’s biggest writers festivals this May

Find out which Penguin Random House authors will be attending writers festivals in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney this May.

Article
Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2022

Discover the best Penguin Random House books of 2022 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

Article
Books of the year 2022

From fantastically funny rom-coms to straightforward self-help, these are some of the best books of 2022.

Article

Looking for more articles?

See all articles