> Skip to content
  • Published: 16 August 2022
  • ISBN: 9781760897222
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99

Stay Awake




The heart-stopping new thriller from the Australian author who has taken the world by storm. A complex thriller that unfolds at a breakneck speed, Stay Awake will keep you up all night.

In the vein of Jacqueline Bublitz's BEFORE YOU KNEW MY NAME and Christopher Nolan’s cult classic MEMENTO, Megan Goldin’s STAY AWAKE is an electrifying novel that plays with memory and murder.

Liv Reese wakes up in the back of a taxi with no idea where she is or how she got there. When she’s dropped off at the door of her brownstone, a stranger answers—a stranger who claims to live in her apartment. She reaches for her phone to call for help, only to discover it’s missing. In its place is a bloodstained knife. Her hands are covered in scribbled messages, like graffiti on her skin: STAY AWAKE.


Two years ago, Liv was thriving as a successful writer for a trendy magazine. Now, she’s lost and disoriented in a New York City that looks nothing like what she remembers. Catching a glimpse of the local news, she’s horrified to see reports of a crime scene where the victim’s blood has been used to scrawl a message across a window, the same message that’s inked on her hands. What did she do last night? And why does she remember nothing from the past two years? Liv finds herself on the run for a crime she doesn’t remember committing. But there’s someone who does know exactly what she did, and they’ll do anything to make her forget—permanently.


A complex thriller that unfolds at a breakneck speed, Stay Awake will keep you up all night.


Praise for Megan Goldin, internationally bestselling author of The Escape Room and The Night Swim:

'Megan Goldin has a sure hand at ratcheting up the tension. The pages turn themselves.' New York Times Book Review


'Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you'll be caught in your own escape room. The only key to freedom is turning the last page.' Kirkus Reviews (starred)

'Top-shelf page-turning crime' Sydney Morning Herald

'Gripping and unforgettable' Harlan Coben

'One of my favourite books of the year' Lee Child

  • Published: 16 August 2022
  • ISBN: 9781760897222
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Megan Goldin

Megan Goldin worked as a correspondent for Reuters and other media outlets, where she covered war, peace, international terrorism, and financial meltdowns in the Middle East and Asia. She is now based in Melbourne, where she raises three sons and is a foster mum to Labrador puppies learning to be guide dogs.

Also by Megan Goldin

See all

Praise for Stay Awake

Megan Goldin has a sure hand at ratcheting up the tension. The pages turn themselves.

New York Times Book Review

Top shelf page-turning crime

Sydney Morning Herald

Related titles