> Skip to content

Article  •  27 November 2023

 

Penguin Fantasy Fest was a magical night for fantasy fans and authors

The inaugural Penguin Fantasy Fest was a wonderful evening for all. Learn about the author panel, see photos of the event and find out how to be notified of future events.

On 9 November 2023, Penguin Random House Australia (PRH AU) hosted the inaugural Penguin Fantasy Fest for readers and fantasy authors to come together for a night of magical, bookish conversation and camaraderie.

The sold-out event included an author panel featuring Australian authors Lauren Jackson, Lyndall Clipstone and Stacey McEwan. While sipping on trope-themed punch – with flavours including ‘grumpy sunshine’, ‘slow burn’ and ‘secret princess’ – readers listened to the authors talk about their books and the genre.

To conclude the panel, PRH AU gave a sneak peek at the 2024 fantasy lineup, allowing readers an exclusive insight into what the fantasy landscape in Australia will look like next year.

The magical night ended on a high note, as readers had the opportunity to meet the authors and get their books signed. What could make a better memento for such a special night?   

Photos and videos from Penguin Fantasy Fest 2023

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Renee | Bookstagram (@snuggles.and.pages)

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Marie (@mim_reads)

@lin_reads Come with me to Penguin Fantasy Fest where we met @Stacey McEwan, @Lauren Jackson and @Lyndall Clipstone and hear them talk about their books, about their journeys as writers and get a sneakpeek of what new books are coming our next year! I am so excited to be able to be a part of such an amazing industry and also pround that so many people form @Sydney Book Society 📚✨ were there, my amazing community of booklovers is trully the best. #booktok #bookevent #bookishevents #penguinfantasyfest #authorevent ♬ Now That We Don't Talk (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault) - Taylor Swift

@lexies.libraryy Such a fun time! 🤩 love any opportunity to get hear author talks and get a book signed #booktok #booktokaustralia #books #bookish #booktoksydney #sydneybooktok #penguinbooks #fantasy #fantasybooks #bookishevent #fantasyreader #romantasy #romantasybooks #aussiebooktok #penguinfantasyfest #bookloversoftiktok ♬ Style (Taylor's Version) - Taylor Swift

@wilddinosaurr Thanks @Penguin Books Aus for throwing such a fun event on Thursday! Had a lot of fun, got some books signed. A little recap is now up on my blog x #bookblogger #bookevent #penguinfantasyfest #penguinbooks #fantasyromance #romantasy #laurenjackson #staceymcewan #lyndallclipstone ♬ Everybody Wants To Rule The World - The Moving Stills

Looks like fun? Subscribe to our newsletter to learn about upcoming events and follow us on Eventbrite to be notified when the next event is listed.

Featured Titles

Chasm
Dawsyn’s fight to save the people of the Ledge is far from over in this thrilling and highly anticipated sequel to the bestselling, Ledge.
Read more
Die For You
Twilight meets The Vampire Diaries in this steamy new adult romantasy.
Read more
Unholy Terrors
A bloodstained tale of a girl torn between her vows and her heart, where falling in love may be the deepest sin of all. A captivating and darkly romantic YA fantasy, perfect for fans of Lynette Noni and Sarah J. Maas.
Read more
Ledge
After being randomly selected as a human sacrifice, instead of death, Dawsyn finds herself on a quest to save her people from their icy prison...
---
Read more

More features

See all
Article
8 new and upcoming fantasy novels you won’t want to miss

We’ve found them for you: the 8 fantasy novels you simply need to add to your TBR!

Article
QUIZ: Which YA book should you ask for this Christmas?

Take this quiz to find out which YA book you should put on your wishlist this year.

Article
If you like this, read that

Find out what you should read next, based on books you already like.

Article
Catch these authors at Australia’s biggest writers festivals this May

Find out which Penguin Random House authors will be attending writers festivals in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney this May.

Article
QUIZ: Which character from The Invocations are you?

Zara, Jude, or Emer? Take the quiz to find out which witch you are!

Article
Everything you need to know about the Inheritance Cycle series

An Inheritance Cycle summary, covering everything from the Ancient Language to the new book.

Article
QUIZ: Which dark academia book do you belong in?

Answer a few questions to find out which dark academia book you belong in.

Article
A Scholomance Student’s Guide to Maleficaria

Something is coming after you! But what is it? This guide is a general explainer of Maleficaria (AKA, monster-like creatures that feed on students) in Naomi Novik's Scholomance series.

Article
What to know before watching Vampire Academy

Find out what Vampire Academy is about, how to stream it in Australia and more.

Article
Quiz: Discover which Discworld book you should start with

This quiz will help you find the best starting point for your Discworld journey based on your personality and reading preferences.

Article
11 fun facts about Gild by Raven Kennedy

Everything you need to know about TikTok’s most hyped fantasy series.

Article
Lynette Noni shares sage advice for developing lifelike characters

Lynette Noni, bestselling author of YA fantasy The Prison Healer trilogy shares how she creates unforgettable characters that feel like real people.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles