> Skip to content

Ages 9–11

New books for ages 9–11

Rockstar Detectives

A fabulously funny debut novel from comedian Adam Hills featuring a young detective dream team, perfect for fans of Sharna Jackson, Robin Stevens, David Baddiel and David O'Doherty.

Read more
The Mapmakers

Return to the spellbinding world of Cordelia Hatmaker in this soaring magical sequel to The Hatmakers. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Harry Potter.

Read more

Features

Article
6 incredible book series to get your 7-year-old hooked on reading

Inspire an eternal love of reading with these accessible series for new readers, featuring large print, fun images, simple vocabulary, and best of all, captivating stories!

Article
Australia’s Top 10 Books for Kids in 2021

The most popular books of the year, written by Australian authors.

Article
Read these books before your kids go back to school

Books for first timers, experienced students or parents at home.

Article
Book trailers for kids

Find your new favourite book by checking out the book trailer first! 

Article
Inspiring conversations about climate change

Deborah Abela delves into the inspiration behind her hit middle grade series, Grimsdon, and reflects on how her books spark discourse around climate change. 

Article
Binge-worthy books: the ten best kids' series that will keep on giving

Just like a good TV show, a beloved book series can lift our mood. Here are some of the best for kids.

Article
On facing our fears

Award-winning YA author Shivaun Plozza shares the inspiration behind her latest book, The Boy, The Wolf and the Stars.

Q&A
Morris Gleitzman spills the beans

Morris throws caution to the wind and answers all of your questions. . . 

Article
Put yourself in someone else's shoes (or fur)

Bestselling author Elliot Perlman shares the inspiration behind his second children's book, Catvinkle and the Missing Tulips.