> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  2 March 2017

 

The French Perfumer

Escape to the south of France in Amanda Hampson’s world of colour.

From the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters, surprise and delight your book club buddies with this captivating and evocative novel full twists and turns. Once you’ve entered Hampson’s vivid worlds and met her colourful characters, your next reading group session is set to be lively. Here are some questions to get the ball rolling.

Reading Group Questions

  • How would you describe the genre of the book?
  • Could you relate to Iris’s loneliness after her father died? Would you have taken the risk she did to do something different?
  • Did you predict any of the twists in the story? What didn’t you see coming?
  • What was your favourite moment in the novel?
  • Do you think Farley’s death was suicide, misadventure or murder? If murder, who is your chief suspect?
  • What do you think Lady Jessica’s motives were?
  • Could Hammond Brooke have changed his situation and been reunited with Sylvie and his daughter?
  • How much did the setting in the South of France and the period contribute to the telling of the story?
  • If you were casting the film, who would you cast as William and Iris?
  • Discuss the importance of the sense of smell. Are there particular smells that trigger memories for you?
  • Do you think the 1950s were a halcyon time? Was life really better/simpler than today?
  • What thematic comparisons, if any, can be drawn between this and the author’s first novel, The Olive Sisters?

 


The French Perfumer Amanda Hampson

In the tradition of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a charming historical novel set in the South of France by the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
My writing life

Amanda Hampson recalls her personal journey through reading, journalism and writing fiction.

Article
Surprising perfume facts

Five things Amanda Hampson learned while researching for The French Perfumer.

Book clubs
The Paper Palace book club notes

A magnificent literary pick for book club.

Book clubs
A Slow Fire Burning book club notes

An exciting new thriller from the author of The Girl on the Train to discuss with your book club.

Book clubs
How to start a book club

Get your very own book club off the ground with these tips from The Wattle Island Book Club author.

Book clubs
The Farmer’s Friend book club notes

An uplifting Australian drama from rural midwife and bestselling author Fiona McArthur.

Book clubs
Wattle Island Book Club book club notes

A story filled with courage, passion and hope to share with your reading group.

Book clubs
Cutters End book club notes

A desert highway. A remote town. A murder that won’t stay hidden.

Book clubs
The Garden of Hopes and Dreams book club notes

A timely and uplifting story about the importance of community and connection from much-loved author Barbara Hannay.

Book clubs
Once There Were Wolves book club notes

Part thriller, part redemptive love story, and sure to be a crowd-pleaser at your next book club meeting.

Book clubs
Mirror Man book club notes

Ponder whether one life is worth more than another with Fiona McIntosh's latest thriller.

Book clubs
The Deep book club notes

This heart-stopping thriller set on the rugged coast of Tasmania is an excellent choice for book club.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes