> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 3 April 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761345661
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 10 hr 48 min
  • Narrator: Zoe Carides
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $34.99

The Cryptic Clue

A Tea Ladies Mystery




Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.

In ZigZag Lane, in the heart of Sydney’s rag-trade district, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene find themselves in hot water. Having already solved a murder, kidnapping and arson case, and outwitting an arch criminal, they have proved themselves a useful resource and earned the respect of a local police officer. Now he needs their help to solve a plot that threatens security.
As if that’s not enough, Irene gets a coded message directing her to the spoils of a bank robbery, which sends the tea ladies on a treasure hunt with an unexpected outcome.

There’s also trouble brewing within the walls of Empire Fashionwear, where an interloper threatens not just Hazel’s job but the very role of tea lady. It’s up to Hazel to convince her friends to abandon their trolleys and take action to save their livelihoods – before it’s too late.

Praise for The Tea Ladies by Amanda Hampson:

A total joy!’ Joanna Nell

‘Sheer delight.’ Country Style

The Thursday Murder Club wish they had Hazel.’ GOODREADS

‘This hilariously dark crime novel about a group of tea ladies who accidentally become sleuths will have you enthralled!’ Woman’s Day

‘The Tea Ladies is a delightfully intriguing romp, full of twists, turns, shocking discoveries… and scones.’ Better Reading

‘Crime, comedy and fashion, it’s a layer cake of which any tea lady would be proud.’ The Age

‘A satisfying mystery, a trio of intrepid older women discovering their own strengths, and a window into a vanished past. I give it five TimTams.’ Readings Books

  • Published: 3 April 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761345661
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 10 hr 48 min
  • Narrator: Zoe Carides
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $34.99

Other books in the series

About the author

Amanda Hampson

Amanda Hampson grew up in rural New Zealand. She has lived in London and Sydney, and now lives in Melbourne. Writing professionally for more than 20 years, she is the author of The Olive Sisters, Two for the Road, The French Perfumer, The Yellow Villa, Sixty Summers, Lovebirds, and the bestselling cosy crime novel The Tea Ladies. Her forthcoming novel is The Cryptic Clue.

Also by Amanda Hampson

See all

Discover more

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Mini-me reads for mums and kids this Mother’s Day

Read by example this Mother’s Day with these book duos, perfect for mums and their children.

Video
The Cryptic Clue: A Tea Ladies Mystery by Amanda Hampson Trailer

Read More: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/the-cryptic-clue-9781761341021 Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus. In ZigZag Lane, in the heart of Sydney’s rag-trade district, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene find themselves in hot water. Having already solved a murder, kidnapping and arson case, and outwitting an arch criminal, they have proved themselves a useful resource and earned the respect of a local police officer. Now he needs their help to solve a plot that threatens security. As if that’s not enough, Irene gets a coded message directing her to the spoils of a bank robbery, which sends the tea ladies on a treasure hunt with an unexpected outcome. There’s also trouble brewing within the walls of Empire Fashionwear, where an interloper threatens not just Hazel’s job but the very role of tea lady. It’s up to Hazel to convince her friends to abandon their trolleys and take action to save their livelihoods – before it’s too late.

Article
The Cryptic Clue book club questions

The second book in The Tea Ladies series is a fun mystery to read with your book club.

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

Video
The Cryptic Clue by Amanda Hampson

PRE-ORDER NOW: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/the-cryptic-clue-9781761341021 Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus. In ZigZag Lane, in the heart of Sydney’s rag-trade district, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene find themselves in hot water. Having already solved a murder, kidnapping and arson case, and outwitting an arch criminal, they have proved themselves a useful resource and earned the respect of a local police officer. Now he needs their help to solve a plot that threatens security. As if that’s not enough, Irene gets a coded message directing her to the spoils of a bank robbery, which sends the tea ladies on a treasure hunt with an unexpected outcome. There’s also trouble brewing within the walls of Empire Fashionwear, where an interloper threatens not just Hazel’s job but the very role of tea lady. It’s up to Hazel to convince her friends to abandon their trolleys and take action to save their livelihoods – before it’s too late.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!