> Skip to content
  • Published: 23 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529105599
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

Mile End Girl



A warm-hearted rags-to-riches East End saga, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maggie Hope.

Can this East End girl find a better life?

Born in a tenement on the Isle of Dogs, Jessie has higher hopes for her future. When she manages to land a job at the Telephone Exchange, her earnings allow her to join the choir at the People's Palace. There, she catches the eye of the charming James Medway who sweeps her off her feet.

But married life isn't a bed of roses, and when Jessie falls pregnant it quickly becomes clear that James is far from the doting husband she'd hoped for. Can Jessie find a way to stay strong for her baby?

A heart-warming and gripping East End Saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Maggie Hope.

  • Published: 23 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529105599
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

About the author

Maggie Ford

Maggie was born in the East End of London but at the age of six she moved to Essex, where she has lived ever since. After the death of her first husband, when she was only twenty-six, she went to work as a legal secretary until she remarried in 1968. She has a son and two daughters, all married; her second husband died in 1984.

She has been writing short stories since the early 1970s.

Also by Maggie Ford

See all

Related titles