> Skip to content

Don’t settle for less than incredible for your next book club read.

Book clubs are great places to discover new books and make new friends. If you’re looking to start a book club, or you’re already in one and need some reading inspiration, here are some of our picks for the unputdownable instant book club classics to impress your book buddies.

  • In 1919, thanks to the war and Spanish flu, potential husbands are thin on the ground. So four young women take an unusual course of action to solve all their problems . . .

  • Stella and Margie is a piercingly insightful novel about love and duty, acceptance and reconciliation, and of a touching friendship that crosses the generations.

  • Spanning three decades, Child of Mine is a deeply resonant novel about a maternal tug-of-love and the little girl caught in the middle.

  • Number One bestselling author Sophie Kinsella's emotionally charged, witty new standalone novel about love and long-term relationship survival - and how those we think we know best can sometimes surprise us the most . . .

  • The long-awaited and highly anticipated new novel from one of Australia’s most beloved bestselling authors.

  • The new novel from no.1 bestselling author Judy Nunn is a stunning portrait of love, hope and survival on an isolated island off Western Australia.

  • Deborah Rodriguez's bestselling novel about a little cafe in Kabul, and the five extraordinary women who meet there ...

  • This mesmerizing Australian novel has been a bestselling book around the world, and Hollywood movie rights were recently snapped up by Dreamworks, with David Heyman (Harry Potter) set to produce. It is the winner of three prestigious ABIA awards, including their 'Book of the Year', and also won the Indie Awards' 'Book of the Year'.

  • A fast-paced, witty and gripping historical crime series from Tom Keneally and his eldest daughter Meg.

  • Based on true events, The Midnight Watch is at once a heart-stopping mystery and a deeply knowing novel — frailty of men, the strength of women, the capriciousness of fate and the price of loyalty.

  • The book that was written by a book club! The Shifting Light is a riveting rural novel of family intrigue, love and suspense, from the authors of The Painted Sky.

  • Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

  • Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

  • With its intoxicating mix of murder mystery and a fateful love story, A Dangerous Crossing is an enthralling novel in the great tradition of Agatha Christie and Patricia Highsmith.

  • An unforgettable story filled with drama, conflict and deep emotion.

More Book Lists

Pocket Eyewitness

Brilliant mini books packed with pictures and bulging with fun facts.

ANZAC Books for Students

Spark enquiry and discussion with these ANZAC books for all ages.

Listen Up

Enjoy your favourite books on the go.

Mum’s the Word: Devoted

For mums who give everything.

Mum’s the Word: Bold

For mums who are one of a kind.

Mum’s the Word: Inquisitive

For mums who know the right questions to ask.