> Skip to content
Zoe Morrison
Photo Credit: (c) Nicholas Purcell Studio

Zoe Morrison

Book for an event


Zoë Morrison is the author of the debut novel Music and Freedom, which won the 2017 ALS Gold Medal, the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, was iBooks Australian Fiction Book of the Year for 2016 and short-listed for an ABIA award. Morrison has a DPhil in human geography from Oxford University where she studied as a Rhodes Scholar before working as a college lecturer in geography and gender studies. She has done research and advocacy in the fields of violence against women and social justice. She also has an LMusA in piano performance. She lives in Melbourne.

Books by Zoe Morrison

Music and Freedom

Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

Read more

Related features

Article
Zoe Morrison Q&A

The Music and Freedom author on the book’s inspiration and creation.

Article
Music and Freedom Book Club Notes

A debut novel to savour: Zoë Morrison’s Music and Freedom.