> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  12 April 2023

 

The Tea Ladies book club questions

A book club read that’s perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.

The Tea Ladies is a brilliant cosy crime that fans of The Thursday Murder Club series will adore. Set in 1960s Sydney, the book follows a group of office tea ladies who become accidental sleuths after a chance encounter with a stranger leads them on the path to search for a young woman believed to be in danger.

Discussion points and questions

  • The Tea Ladies showcases a tight community of strong women pushing against the sensibilities and limitations of the times. In what ways did the actions of Hazel, Betty and Irene surprise you?
  • Did you have a favourite tea lady and why?
  • Is it easy for you to imagine a time in which ladies served tea to employees in large organisations such as Empire Fashionwear?
  • In what ways was life in the 1960s easier, and in what ways was it harder? Do you think life was better back then?
  • This book celebrates the swinging sixties in all its technicolour glory. Other than the glorious fashion, what aspects of the era did you think the author captured well?  
  • Did your impression of Hazel change over the course of the story?
  • Do you think Hazel made the right decision about Bob?
  • Who do you imagine playing the roles of the tea ladies in a television series?
  • What other authors writing in this cosy crime genre do you like to read?
  • Have you read any other books by Amanda Hampson, and if so, what aspects of her storytelling do you most enjoy?

Need a book club snack? Read this article by the author about the reign of the cream sponge, then make it yourself

Feature Title

The Tea Ladies
A wickedly witty cosy crime novel set in Sydney in the swinging sixties, ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.
Read more

More features

See all
Book clubs
The Cryptic Clue book club questions

The second book in The Tea Ladies series is a fun mystery to read with your book club.

Book clubs
Lovebirds book club notes

A pick for book club that's warm, witty and wise.

Book clubs
Sixty Summers book club notes

Take a journey through Europe with three friends as they retrace the steps of their 1978 backpacking trip.

Book clubs
The Yellow Villa book club notes

Uncover scandalous domestic drama with your book club in the picturesque setting of South-West France.

Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

News
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

Article
Discover the new releases that book critics are loving this autumn

See what reviewers are saying about books published in April and May 2023.

Article
Is the reign of the cream sponge over?

Author Amanda Hampson reflects on her fond memories of this delightful cake.

Article
Why are we still in love with sixties fashion?

Amanda Hampson revisits the era in her upcoming novel, 'The Tea Ladies'.

Article
The rise & fall of the tea lady: a brief history

Who were tea ladies and how did they come to be a part of our workday routines?

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes