> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  5 May 2019

 

Sixty Summers book club notes

Take a journey through Europe with three friends as they retrace the steps of their 1978 backpacking trip.

Maggie, Fran and Rose test their friendship, challenge their beliefs and redefine the third age of their lives in Sixty Summers. Your book club will be delighted with this wonderfully witty and insightful breakout novel. Here are some questions to get you started.

Discussion points and questions:

  • Who was your favourite character in the novel, and which one did you relate to the most?
  • ‘So many people come into our lives and then disappear.’ Discuss the importance of true long-term friendships for women.
  • Who do you think could play the three women in a movie adaptation?
  • Rose says: ‘If my young self could have looked into the future and seen the compromises I’ve made in my life, she’d throw up. It’s been just one compromise after another to make life easy. That’s not fearless. It’s gutless.’ Do you agree?
  • Did anything in the story inspire you?
  • In what ways did this novel toy with your expectations of what might occur?
  • Maggie says: ‘We came to find something. We haven’t even caught a glimpse of it.’ In what ways is this true?
  • What are the major themes of the book and how are they relevant to your life?
  • What, if anything, do the European locations add to the story?
  • ‘Here they were, forty years later. They had changed beyond recognition. And not changed at all.’ Discuss.
  • Do you think all three characters found their happy endings?
  • What other books have you read by this author, and how did this one compare?

Feature Title

Sixty Summers
Disenchanted with their lives, three old friends set off on a journey through Europe retracing the steps of a backpacking trip forty years earlier. What could possibly go wrong?
Read more

More features

See all
Book clubs
The Cryptic Clue book club questions

The second book in The Tea Ladies series is a fun mystery to read with your book club.

Book clubs
The Tea Ladies book club questions

A book club read that’s perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.

Article
Didn't get to Europe this year? These 3 books will transport you there

Revisit three Amanda Hampson books to experience European summer from the comfort of your living room.

Article
Travelling through time

Amanda Hampson reflects on travelling in the past and present, plus the research she undertook to bring Maggie, Fran and Rose to life in Sixty Summers.

Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Mini-me reads for mums and kids this Mother’s Day

Read by example this Mother’s Day with these book duos, perfect for mums and their children.

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

News
Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

News
Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase

An exciting Penguin Random House author showcase on 9 August!

Article
Discover the new releases that book critics are loving this autumn

See what reviewers are saying about books published in April and May 2023.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes