> Skip to content

Article  •  9 March 2023

 

Why are we still in love with sixties fashion?

Amanda Hampson revisits the era in her upcoming novel, 'The Tea Ladies'.

In the 1950s, women’s fashion was all about being demure, tasteful and feminine. Colour coordination was paramount; matching shoes, handbags, and hats. White gloves for special occasions and church. Stockings held up by suspender belts. Pierced ears were condemned as ‘cheap’, as was too much eye makeup. There were a lot of rules.

Sixties fashion was all about breaking those rules. 

Keen to ditch the dreary styles and subdued colours of the past decades, we rushed to embrace the bold, colourful, and playful fashions of Mary Quant.

Mary Quant’s revolution

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Argent Design (@argentdesign)

The miniskirt was a symbol of liberation. Quant’s geometric patterns, op-art designs and bold clashing colours were adventurous and exciting.

Twiggy: the face of 1966.

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Twiggy (@twiggylawson)

Thin with cropped hair and big eyes, she was boyish but feminine. She disrupted the narrow guidelines considered acceptable for a female’s appearance. Her startling image stared out from every magazine, and we couldn’t get enough of her.

The Shrimp

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Jean Shrimpton — “The Shrimp” (@jean.shrimpton)

The fashion revolution arrived overnight in Australia in 1965 when the famous model Jean Shrimpton (AKA 'The Shrimp') wore a mini dress to the Melbourne Cup. It shocked the nation, and by the next day, half the young women in the country wanted one just like it.

Most homes had a sewing machine and we could make these simple A-line mini dresses in ‘way out’ fabrics and imagine ourselves to be the height of fashion. I remember running up a particularly fetching pair of orange bell bottoms when I was about fourteen and made plenty of mini skirts that I was forbidden to wear out of the house until I took the hem down. 

Sixties fashion was about self-expression and individuality, not doing the ‘right thing’ and fitting in. Gender norms were challenged. Women began to wear pants while men experimented with longer hair and colourful patterns. It was a time of incredible creativity and experimentation. 

Sure, there were some passing fads (duffel coats, tie-dye, bare feet, head-bands) but many of the sixties styles are still around: kaftans, minis, hot pants, platforms, vivid colours and patterns, animal prints, and the ubiquitous jean jacket – even false eyelashes have made a comeback! 

From the miniskirt to the mod look to psychedelic fashion, we’re still inspired by the fashion revolution of the sixties.

The book

The Tea Ladies is set in 1965 in the ‘rag trade’ of Sydney’s Surry Hills. One of the many aspects I loved about working on it was revisiting the evolution and transformation of fashion at the time. It brought back so many memories of how fun fashion was back then. I hope you enjoy it too.

 

Article originally posted on amandahampson.com.

Feature Title

The Tea Ladies
A wickedly witty cosy crime novel set in Sydney in the swinging sixties, ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
Penguin Noir is back with two events in 2024

Learn about two exciting Penguin Random House author showcases this August!

Article
Meet the characters from The Tea Ladies

Meet the tea ladies from Amanda Hampson’s Tea Ladies series.

Article
Discover the new releases that book critics are loving this autumn

See what reviewers are saying about books published in April and May 2023.

Article
Is the reign of the cream sponge over?

Author Amanda Hampson reflects on her fond memories of this delightful cake.

Article
The rise & fall of the tea lady: a brief history

Who were tea ladies and how did they come to be a part of our workday routines?

Article
Mini-me reads for mums and kids this Mother’s Day

Read by example this Mother’s Day with these book duos, perfect for mums and their children.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

Article
Didn't get to Europe this year? These 3 books will transport you there

Revisit three Amanda Hampson books to experience European summer from the comfort of your living room.

Article
Female authors talk about the women writers who have inspired them

In honour of International Women’s Day, we asked female authors to talk about the women writers who have inspired them.

Article
Travelling through time

Amanda Hampson reflects on travelling in the past and present, plus the research she undertook to bring Maggie, Fran and Rose to life in Sixty Summers.

Article
My writing life

Amanda Hampson recalls her personal journey through reading, journalism and writing fiction.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles