> Skip to content

Article  •  6 April 2022

 

The book that gets teenagers reading

International bestselling author Karen M. McManus is known for her high school thrillers

It’s an age-old struggle, coercing our teens to do anything, particularly if it involves putting down their phone. In an age where attention spans and literacy rates are on the decline due to technology addictions, how do we get our teens to read?

Our suggestion – offer them a series they can’t refuse!

Author Karen M. McManus is the #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of multiple young adult mystery-thriller novels. Her titles – One of Us is Lying, One of Us is Next, Two Can Keep a Secret, The Cousins and You’ll Be the Death of Me – have been translated into over 40 languages worldwide, hooking readers on a global scale.

The book that started it all, One of Us is Lying, has thrills, drama, secrets, lies and a slew of polarising personalities that will have you gripped from the very first page . . .

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them ever again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you’ll go to protect them.

The novel alternates perspectives between the four teens – Bronwyn, Cooper, Nate and Addy – as they each become suspects and fight to prove their innocence, while hiding the incriminating secrets for as long as they can. The shifting point of view keeps the story fresh and provides at least one character that any teen can relate to.

Available now on Stan Australia, One of Us is Lying has been produced as a gripping TV show and has been renewed for a second season. What a treat to see your favourite story come to life on screen! (Plus, the show has a different ending to the book – great for book clubs to gather and discuss.)

Karen M. McManus is the queen of unputdownable novels, and her fan base will have nothing but high praise for her and this series. A top recommendation for those reluctant teen readers, or even the young at heart who love a good YA drama. Think: Riverdale meets Gossip Girl.

Keep an eye out for the next book by Karen M. McManus, Nothing More to Tell, coming September 2022.

Featured Titles

One Of Us Is Lying
Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Riverdale, One Of Us Is Lying is the internationally bestselling YA thriller by acclaimed author, Karen M. McManus.
Read more
One Of Us Is Next
Truth or Dare turns deadly in this explosive sequel from the internationally bestselling author of One of us Is Lying.
Read more
Two Can Keep a Secret
The follow up YA thriller from the author of the international bestseller One of Us is Lying.
Read more
The Cousins
An explosive YA thriller from international bestselling author of One of Us is Lying.
Read more
You'll Be the Death of Me
From the international bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying and Queen of Teen Crime comes a brand-new addictive thriller. Three former friends ditch school for old time's sake - with horrible and deadly consequences.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
A useful guide to Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High books

Learn about Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High trilogy – comprising One of Us is Back, One of Us is Lying, and One of Us is Next, find out more about each book in the series.

Article
QUIZ: Which One Of Us Is Lying Character are you?

Are you most like Bronwyn, Addy, Nate or Cooper?

Article
13 fun facts about Karen M. McManus

Karen M. McManus fun facts about writing, favourite foods, inspiration and more.

Article
One of Us is Lying: Meet the suspects

Five students get detention, only four leave alive. How far would you go to protect your secrets?

Article
The Most Anticipated YA Books of 2021

New stories from bestselling authors Lynette Noni, Becky Albertali, Karen M. McManus, Rick Riordan, and more.

Article
Australia’s top 12 kids books for Christmas 2020

Twelve predictions of Christmas-time bestsellers for preschoolers, juniors and teens.

Article
What you should read next based on your fave Netflix shows

Done binging the latest TV sensation? Pick up a book and keep the good times rolling. 

Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Article
The 10 most anticipated YA books of 2023

Check out 10 of the most-anticipated YA books to read in 2023. Trust us, add them to your TBR now!

Article
Escape into summer with these YA bestsellers

Dive right into these amazing YA books for a summer of great reading ahead.

Article
QUIZ: Which YA book should you ask for this Christmas?

Take this quiz to find out which YA book you should put on your wishlist this year.

Article
6 new and upcoming YA books worthy of your TBR list this winter

Learn about the new YA books that you’ll want to read this winter.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles