> Skip to content

Article  •  20 July 2022

 

6 new and upcoming YA books worthy of your TBR list this winter

Learn about the new YA books that you’ll want to read this winter.

2022 has been a great year for YA books so far.

With so many amazing books already published and many more to come, it can be hard to choose just one.

If you’re on the hunt for your next read, these six titles are worth consideration. These newly-released and upcoming YA books are sure to have you laughing, crying, and falling in love.

Read on to see our picks, but first, a word of warning: you won’t be able to choose just one.

6 great YA books to read in winter 2022

 

Our crooked hearts book cover.

Our Cooked Hearts by Melissa Albert

Secrets, lies, witchcraft and family drama. Our Crooked Hearts tells the story of Ivy and her mother Dana, who messed with supernatural forces as a teenager. Now, Ivy and Dana are forced into a reckoning with the dark powers that they never should’ve messed with.  

 

The Blood Traitor book cover.

The Blood Traitor by Lynette Noni

The Blood Traitor is the third and final book in Lynette Noni’s The Prison Healer series. Where Kiva once wanted revenge, everything has changed. She's worried about her friends and family, but there is more at stake: war is brewing, and she needs to fight for what (and who) she believes in.

 

Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan

Some Girls Do is a contemporary queer romance that tells the story of an openly gay athlete who falls for a closeted, bisexual teen beauty queen. When track star Morgan is forced to transfer high schools in her senior year, she meets Ruby, a pageant girl who loves fixing up old cars. The two are drawn to each other instantly, but at the private Catholic school, being queer is against the code of conduct. Morgan doesn’t want to keep the relationship a secret, but Ruby isn’t ready to come out. It’s up to the girls to decide whether to end the relationship before it really begins or to give it a shot despite all odds.

 

Beasts of Ruin book cover.

Beasts of Ruin by Ayana Gray (coming 2 August 2022)

Beasts of Ruin is a magical sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Beasts of PreyKoffi, now servant to the god of death, must choose between the life she has now and the one she could have if she fully embraced her power. Meanwhile, Ekon is on the run from the ancient brotherhood he betrayed, frantically searching to find Koffi. The longer they’re apart, the harder their loyalties will be tested.

 

Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell book cover.

Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell by Tobias Madden (coming 30 August 2022)

Tobias Madden’s second novel, Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell  is a must-read for anyone who enjoys a fun romance. Noah is in love with his online bestie, but he knows the chances are small that they’ll ever meet IRL. When he sees an opportunity to secretly meet him, he takes it. Sure, he’ll have to join a local production of Chicago, lie to his only friend, and sing in front of people, but love is worth the risk – right?

 

Nothing more to tell book cover.

Nothing More to Tell by Karen M. McManus (coming 30 August 2022)

Nothing More to Tell  is an unputdownable YA thriller that follows the mystery of a murdered teacher and one girl who’s determined to solve it. When Mr Larkin’s body was found on school grounds, Brynn quit Saint Ambrose school. Five years later, she lands an internship on a new true-crime show, and her time has finally come to find out what really happened. The more she uncovers, the more secrets she finds about the school, Mr Larkin and her ex-best friend.

 

Need more? Check out the most-anticipated YA books of 2022

Featured Titles

Our Crooked Hearts
Secrets. Lies. Super-bad choices. Witchcraft . . . A gripping mystery crossed with a pitch-dark tale of modern-day witchcraft.
Read more
The Blood Traitor (The Prison Healer Book 3)
The finale of the Prison Healer trilogy, from Australia's #1-bestselling YA author Lynette Noni.
Read more
Beasts of Ruin
The powerful and magical sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller BEASTS OF PREY, perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, SHADOW AND BONE and THE GILDED ONES.
Read more
Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell
Tobias Madden delivers another swoonworthy YA rom-com winner with his second novel!
Read more
Nothing More to Tell
From the author of the international bestseller One of Us Is Lying comes a brand new unputdownable YA thriller.
Read more
Some Girls Do
In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an openly gay track star falls for a closeted, bisexual teen beauty queen with a penchant for fixing up old cars. Now available in paperback!
Read more

More features

See all
Article
QUIZ: Which Prison Healer character are you?

Find out which character you are from The Prison Healer series by Lynette Noni with this fun quiz.

Article
Escape into summer with these YA bestsellers

Dive right into these amazing YA books for a summer of great reading ahead.

Article
Authors were back on the road in 2022 - and we loved it!

Join us as we travel back in time through 2022 with the authors that hit the road this year.

Article
13 fun facts about Karen M. McManus

Karen M. McManus fun facts about writing, favourite foods, inspiration and more.

Article
5 books Tobias Madden thinks you should read

Book recommendations from author Tobias Madden for every type of reader.

Article
Lynette Noni shares sage advice for developing lifelike characters

Lynette Noni, bestselling author of YA fantasy The Prison Healer trilogy shares how she creates unforgettable characters that feel like real people.

Article
Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Article
A useful guide to Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High books

Learn about Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High trilogy – comprising One of Us is Back, One of Us is Lying, and One of Us is Next, find out more about each book in the series.

Article
The 10 most anticipated YA books of 2023

Check out 10 of the most-anticipated YA books to read in 2023. Trust us, add them to your TBR now!

Article
Exclusive audiobook content that will inspire you to read more than ever before

Love audiobooks? They’re even better with extra content! Check out some of the audiobooks that include exclusive recorded content for even more enjoyment.

Article
QUIZ: Which YA book should you ask for this Christmas?

Take this quiz to find out which YA book you should put on your wishlist this year.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles