> Skip to content

Article  •  19 November 2020

 

Australia’s top 12 kids books for Christmas 2020

Twelve predictions of Christmas-time bestsellers for preschoolers, juniors and teens.

We have so many wonderful books coming out for young readers this Christmas, but these are our predictions for the top 12 best sellers. Pre-order now from your local bookstore to ensure you don’t miss out.

 

For little ones:

1. Bluey: Verandah Santa,  Bluey: Hooray It’s Christmas, Bluey: Grannies and Bluey: Let’s Play Outside

Show us an Aussie pre-schooler who doesn’t love Bluey and we’ll show you a pig that flies. Bluey fever has taken the country (and the world!) by storm and these heartwarming stories about the joy of simple family life will have adults looking forward to story time too. The magnets in Bluey: Let’s Play Outside are perfect for imaginative play and livening up story time.

 

2. Back to Sleep by Zoë Foster Blake and Mike Jacobsen

The not-so-peaceful bedtime routines of parents and kids have been flipped upside down with this picture book from the bestselling author of No One Likes a Fart. Seeing Mum and Dad exhaust poor Finn because they refuse to go to sleep is a tale all parents will relate to. Kids will think its hysterical fun and the whole family will love the illustrations. A must-have bedtime read.

 

3. I’m a Hero Too by Jamila Rizvi and Peter Cheong

It has been a confusing year for kids. This is an insightful, topical and practical picture book that helps young children share and make sense of the changes brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, inspired by Jamila Rizvi’s own parenting experience. A great way to bookend the year on a positive note.

 

4. Old Man Emu by John Williamson and Simon McLean

This picture book is quintessentially Australian, complete with a whole heard of native animals. Based on the hit song that’s celebrating its 50th anniversary, kids are going to love singing along as they take in the funny illustrations. He can’t fly, but I’m telling you, he can run the pants off a kangaroo . . . Good luck getting it out of your head now!

 

For primary school-aged kids:

5. Diary of a Wimpy Kid 15: The Deep End and Rowley Jeffferson’s Awesome Friendly Adventure by Jeff Kinney

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series has sold more than 250 million books world-wide and counting. Released every November, it’s usually the bestselling kids’ book for Christmas. Greg Heffley’s hilarious adventures show no signs of slowing down and these books are great for reluctant readers. Also make sure to check out the spin-off book Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure, which is written by Greg’s best friend.

 

6. The Human Body Survival Guide by George Ivanoff

This complete (and completely disgusting) guide to the human body is the perfect gift for kids who love to make their family members cringe with gross facts shared at the dinner table. There’s one in every family!

 

7. What Zola Did series by Melina Marchetta and Deb Hudson

Parents who enjoyed Looking for Alibrandi will adore these chapter books for 6–8 year olds filled with humour and mischief. They’re simple, quick to read and once you’re on a roll with What Zola Did on Monday you can discover What Zola Did on Tuesday and What Zola Did on Wednesday with Zola’s (mis)adventures on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday releasing in 2021.

 

8. Terry Denton’s Really Truly Amazing Guide to Everything by Terry Denton

A super engaging, highly illustrated mini-encyclopedia from the bestselling co-author of the Treehouse series. Perfect for fans of The Upside-down History of Down Under, The Australian Survival Guide or any graphic novels.

 

 

For teenagers:

9. Breathless by Jennifer Niven

Easily one of the most popular YA authors in the world right now, Jennifer Niven's (author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe) new book is about first love, heartache, and that character-defining summer between high school graduation and tertiary education. One of the most highly anticipated YA books of 2020 on Goodreads.

 

10. The Cousins by Karen McManus

Karen’s debut YA murder mystery, One of Us is Lying, has been on the best-seller list for years and her new mystery, The Cousins, promises to be an even more thrilling and action-packed story. Pre-order now for its December release!

 

11. Trials of Apollo 5: The Tower of Nero by Rick Riordan

Teens have been flocking to bookstores on the release day of Rick Riordan’s new books for years now. At last, the breathtaking, action-packed finale of the Trials of Apollo series is here! Fans of Percy Jackson and Greek mythology will adore The Tower of Nero and the whole series.

 

12. Ranger’s Apprentice The Royal Ranger 4: The Missing Prince by John Flanagan

John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice and Brotherband adventure series have sold more than fifteen million copies worldwide, which is not bad for a homegrown author. Fans are loving the character duo of the Royal Ranger books; Will, the hero of the first books, and his young apprentice, Maddie. The latest adventure is one of the most thrilling of them all.


Bluey: Verandah Santa Bluey

Based on the hit ABC KIDS TV show!

Buy now
Buy now

Looking for more articles?

See all articles