> Skip to content

Article  •  24 November 2021

 

One of Us is Lying: Meet the suspects

Five students get detention, only four leave alive. How far would you go to protect your secrets?

Did you catch the TV adaptation of Karen M. McManus’ One of Us is Lying?

The internationally bestselling YA thriller by acclaimed author, Karen M. McManus, is now a major TV series streaming on Stan.

One of Us is Lying features around five students from Bayview High School, each given detention for significantly different reasons. Of these five, only four leave detention alive.

Bronwyn, Cooper, Nate, and Addy are each hiding a terrible secret, ones that outsider Simon is only too happy to expose on his Bayview High Gossip App.

In detention, Simon suffers an allergic reaction and the ambulance quickly arrives, taking him to the hospital. Within 24 hours Simon dies, just before he’s able to post the group’s deepest secrets online.

As police investigators start circling and looking for suspects, their attention lingers on those who were with Simon in his last moments.

So who exactly are the suspects, and how far will they go to protect their secrets?  

Meet the Bayview Four

 

Cooper Clay

A star athlete on the way to securing himself a college scholarship. Cooper is intensely focused and destined for baseball greatness. As he tries to hide the one secret that could jeopardise it all, his life starts to unravel, losing hold of his friends, social life, and professional career.

 

 

Addy Prentiss 

Prom Queen and miss popularity with a perfect boyfriend and social status. Raised by a mother who values physical appearance and station, Addy goes to lengths to protect her secret and hold on to her boyfriend Jake and the possible financially secure future that comes with him.

 

 

Bronwyn Rojas

Studious A-plus student on the Yale University track, who was vying with Simon for the position of Valedictorian. Smart, headstrong, and driven to succeed, her squeaky-clean image is about to be compromised, and as she falls deeper into the investigation her chance to leave Bayview slips further and further away.

 

Nate Macauley 

Juvenile delinquent and Bayview’s requisite bad boy who’s one step away from a life of crime. The obvious suspect in Simon’s murder, Nate is quickly burning out and walking a fine line as he’s already on probation for dealing drugs.

Everyone has secrets, but who has the most to hide?

Find out now!


One Of Us Is Lying Karen M. McManus

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Riverdale, One Of Us Is Lying is the internationally bestselling YA thriller by acclaimed author, Karen M. McManus.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
The book that gets teenagers reading

International bestselling author Karen M. McManus is known for her high school thrillers

Article
Activity
Penguin Teen Christmas Bingo

Join the Penguin Teen read-a-thon this summer.

Article
Nicole Alexander details river-trade history that inspired new book

The Last Station introduces us to a once-prosperous family facing ruin and a paddle-steamer captain clinging to a dying world.

Article
QUIZ: How well do you know The Great Gatsby?

Celebrate the anniversary of The Great Gatsby by putting your knowledge to the test with our newest quiz!

Article
Meet the family at the centre of our must-have whodunnit

The Cunninghams don't really get along, and every one of them has killed someone. Meet the family to help you find the culprit.

Article
Our top Easter long weekend reading picks

Looking to escape into a book this Easter long weekend? Here are our recommendations to truly help you unwind.

Article
The books behind the BAFTA award wins

Find out more about our books that are behind this year's British Academy Film Award winners.

Article
Meet our fearless female heroines

These female characters are brave, stand up for their beliefs and aren't afraid to break the status quo. 

Q&A
How author abandons classic notions of the afterlife in Here Goes Nothing

Steve Toltz shares his inspiration for the afterlife, how he freed his characters from technology, and how he envisioned a near-future world in his new novel, Here Goes Nothing.

Q&A
The questioning of faith that led author to write his debut novel

Ashley Goldberg talks favourite scenes, lived experience, and the real-life events that inspired his debut novel, Abomination.

Q&A
The infuriating meeting that pushed author to write novel

Bonnie Garmus was seething when she got back to her desk after a work meeting. It was then she began writing Lessons in Chemistry.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles