> Skip to content

Article  •  23 January 2022

 

Top 10 Most Anticipated YA Books of 2022

Add these to your TBR!

Captivating new stories from Karen M. McManus, Lynette Noni, Tobias Madden, Melissa de la Cruz and more.

 

The Blood Traitor (The Prison Healer 3) by Lynette Noni

The eagerly awaited finale of The Prison Healer trilogy, from Australia’s number one bestselling YA author. With her loyalties now set, Kiva can no longer just survive – she must fight for what she believes in. For who she believes in. But with danger coming from every side, and the lives of everyone she loves at risk, does Kiva have what it takes to stand, or will she fall? Out June.

FANTASY • ACTION • PLOT TWISTS • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell by Tobias Madden

From the bestselling author of Anything But Fine comes a heartwarming new romance. Seventeen-year-old gamer Noah Mitchell goes undercover in a local production of Chicago (with his overbearing mother playing the lead role, no less) to get his online crush to fall in love with him. Out September.

ROMANCE • MUSICAL THEATRE • LGBTQI+ • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

Nothing More to Tell by Karen M. McManus

Another heart-stopping thriller from the record-smashing author of One of Us is Lying. Four years ago, Brynn left Saint Ambrose School following the shocking murder of her favourite teacher, whose body was found in the woods behind the school. The case was never solved. Now that Brynn is moving home and starting her dream internship at a true-crime show, she’s determined to find out what really happened. Out September.

THRILLER • MYSTERY • DRAMA

 

The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Read by millions, this YA classic has been making us all sob for a decade now. This new anniversary edition of The Fault in Our Stars is a deluxe foiled gatefold paperback with printed inside cover and a beautiful blue endpaper design. Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few extra years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Out April.

ROMANCE • TEARJERKER • ANNIVERSARY EDITION

 

The Final Gambit (The Inheritance Games 3) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Avery’s fortune, life and loves are on the line in the game that we’ve all been talking about on TikTok. To inherit billions, all Avery Grambs has to do is survive a few more weeks living in the Hawthorne House. But as the clock ticks down to the final moment, trouble arrives in the form of a visitor who needs help. With one last puzzle to solve, Avery and the Hawthorne brothers are drawn into a dangerous game against an unknown and powerful player. Out September.

FAMILY DRAMA • MYSTERY • THRILLER

 

What We All Saw by Mike Lucas

Witches only exist in stories. Everyone knows that. But what is the stories are real? Four friends, four truths, one nightmare. If you wander into the wood . . . if you hear scratching sounds from the Old Quarry . . . if you go too close to the edge . . . WATCH OUT. Out June.

THRILLER • HORROR • AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR

 

Nate Plus One by Kevin van Whye

Stage-shy singer-songwriter Nate is totally stoked for his cousin’s wedding in South Africa . . . until he finds out his sleazeball ex-boyfriend is also on the guest list. Hot-as-hell high school rock-god Jai has troubles too: his band’s lead singer has quit, just weeks before the gig that was meant to be their big break. When Nate saves the day by agreeing to sing with Jai’s band, and Jai volunteers to be Nate’s plus-one to the wedding, the stage is set for a summer of music, self-discovery and simmering romantic tension. Out May.

ROMANTIC COMEDY • LGBTQI+ • BIPOC

 

Cinder and Glass by Melissa de la Cruz

A lush and romantic retelling of the classic fairytale Cinderella. The year is 1682, and the King of France has requested the presence of all maidens at a number of balls for his son Prince Louis, who must choose a bride. Cendrillon, a servant in the chateau she once called home, evades her stepmother and cruel stepsisters to attend the ball, where she captures the eye of both the handsome Prince Louis and his younger brother Auguste. Can Cendrillon bear losing the boy she loves in order to leave a life she hates? Out April.

FAIRYTALE RETELLING • HISTORICAL ROMANCE

 

This Place is Still Beautiful by XiXi Tian

Annalie and Margaret are sisters who agree on only one thing: they have nothing in common. Margaret is a driven and ambitious social justice warrior, off to spread her nineteen-year-old wings in New York. Meanwhile sweet, popular, seventeen-year-old Annalie can’t think of anything worse – she loves their town, and feels safe coasting along in its confines. Until she arrives home one day to find a gut-punching racial slur painted on their garage door. Margaret flies home, up in arms, shocked to learn that her family only want to forget about it and have a ‘normal’ summer. As Margaret and Annalie wrestle with racism, family drama, the thrill of first love and lost loves, one crushing secret threatens to tear them apart forever.

BIPOC • RACISM • FAMILY DRAMA

 

The Stranded by Sarah Daniels

A gripping, near-future thriller (think The Hunger Games meets Station Eleven). The Arcadia was once a luxurious cruise ship, but it became a refugee camp after being driven from Europe by an apocalyptic war. For forty years, residents of The Arcadia have been prohibited from making landfall, and the ship has become a world of extremes, gangs and makeshift shelters. Esther is hoping for the chance to lead a normal life as a medic on dry land, while Ben is a rebel planning to liberate The Arcadia once and for all. When events throw them together, the lives of Ben, Esther and the ship’s inhabitants will change forever. Out July.

DYSTOPIAN • SCI-FI • THRILLER

Featured Titles

The Blood Traitor (The Prison Healer Book 3)
The finale of the Prison Healer trilogy, from Australia's #1-bestselling YA author Lynette Noni.
Read more
Take a Bow, Noah Mitchell
Tobias Madden delivers another swoonworthy YA rom-com winner with his second novel!
Read more
The Fault in Our Stars
A special edition marking the 10th anniversary of global publishing and cultural phenomenon The Fault in Our Stars – the beloved YA classic read by millions.
Read more
What We All Saw
'I loved everything about this book – its humour, its horror, its sublime storytelling.' VIKKI WAKEFIELD
Read more
Nate Plus One
Gorgeous, feelgood LGBTQ+ romantic comedy from the author of Date Me, Bryson Keller!
Read more
This Place is Still Beautiful
Two sisters. A shocking racist incident. The summer that will change both of their lives forever.
Read more
The Stranded
A gripping near-future thriller in a world turned upside-down . . . for fans of Suzanne Collins, Emily St John Mandel, Bong Joon-ho's Snowpiercer.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Article
QUIZ: Which Prison Healer character are you?

Find out which character you are from The Prison Healer series by Lynette Noni with this fun quiz.

Article
Escape into summer with these YA bestsellers

Dive right into these amazing YA books for a summer of great reading ahead.

Article
Authors were back on the road in 2022 - and we loved it!

Join us as we travel back in time through 2022 with the authors that hit the road this year.

Article
5 books Tobias Madden thinks you should read

Book recommendations from author Tobias Madden for every type of reader.

Article
6 new and upcoming YA books worthy of your TBR list this winter

Learn about the new YA books that you’ll want to read this winter.

Article
Lynette Noni shares sage advice for developing lifelike characters

Lynette Noni, bestselling author of YA fantasy The Prison Healer trilogy shares how she creates unforgettable characters that feel like real people.

Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Article
Meet the characters from The Inheritance Games series

Brush up on the characters from the Inheritance Games series before you dive into The Brothers Hawthorne.

Article
A useful guide to Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High books

Learn about Karen M. McManus’s Bayview High trilogy – comprising One of Us is Back, One of Us is Lying, and One of Us is Next, find out more about each book in the series.

Article
8 new and upcoming fantasy novels you won’t want to miss

We’ve found them for you: the 8 fantasy novels you simply need to add to your TBR!

Article
The 10 most anticipated YA books of 2023

Check out 10 of the most-anticipated YA books to read in 2023. Trust us, add them to your TBR now!

Looking for more articles?

See all articles