Penguin News

Catch up on all the latest news from Penguin Random House Australia including award winning authors, illustrators, designers, publishers and other publishing industry and book related news.

2011 Orange Prize for Fiction - shortlisted
18 Apr 2011

Great House by Nicole Krauss

The winner will be announced June 8.

BBC Samuel Johnson Prize for Non Fiction - longlisted
18 Apr 2011

Bomber County by Daniel Swift

Caravaggio by Andrew Graham Dixon

Reprobates by John Stubbs

A shortlist of six will be announced on 14 June.

The winner will be announced on 6 July at an event at the Royal Institute of British Architects, London.

The Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards 2011 - shortlisted
12 Apr 2011

Older Readers

The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett

The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher by Doug MacLeod

The Piper's Son by Melina Marchetta

Younger Readers

The Red Wind by Isobelle Carmody

Early Childhood

It's Bedtime, William! by Deborah Niland

The Deep End, by Ursula Dubosarsky, illustrated by Mitch Vane

Picture Books

My Uncle's Donkey by Tohby Riddle

Eve Pownall Award for Information Book

The Return of the Word Spy by Ursula Dubosarsky, illustrated by Tohby Riddle

Wicked Warriors & Evil Emperors: the True Story of the Fight for Ancient China by Allison Lloyd, illustrated by Terry Denton

For the full list of nominees in all categories, and for more information about the awards, see

Ben Ball becomes Publishing Director of Penguin General
29 Mar 2011

Penguin Australia, Chief Executive Gabrielle Coyne announced today the promotion of Ben Ball to the position of Publishing Director, Penguin General, a division made up of the imprints Viking, Michael Joseph, Hamish Hamilton and Penguin.

Ball, who was born in Melbourne, held numerous publishing positions in London before joining Penguin in January 2006.  As a Director, he will join Children's and Young Adult's Publishing Director Laura Harris and Illustrated Books Publishing Director Julie Gibbs, completing the new commissioning and editorial leadership group across the three distinct Australian publishing divisions.

In the five years he has been at Penguin, Ball has published a broad range of books, working with authors such as Peter Carey, Peter Goldsworthy, Sonya Hartnett, Mathew Hayden, Chloe Hooper, Paul Kelly, Nam Le, Judith Lucy, Steve Toltz, Brenda Walker and Tim Winton.

Ben Ball said 'It's an honour and a delight to help lead this great publishing house.  I'm fortunate enough at Penguin to work with wonderful authors and first-class colleagues, so I'm very energized by the prospect of tackling the challenges the industry has ahead of it in such fine company.'

Gabrielle Coyne said 'I'm delighted to have someone of Ben's calibre joining the new leadership group of the publishing division.  Ben is a passionate advocate for books and writers. No-one is more serious nor committed to the curatorial role publisher's play, particularly when it comes to ensuring an author's work is enjoyed by as many people as possible in formats old and new.'

With Ben moving into this new role, he, Julie Gibbs and Laura Harris will now assume full responsibility for their Publishing divisions, reporting to Gabrielle Coyne.

Glory Girl commended in the 2011 FAW National Literary Awards
29 Mar 2011

Peter Yeldham's Glory Girl has been commended in the 2011 FAW National Literary Awards, in the Christina Stead Fiction category.

Further information on the category winners should be available shortly on the FAW website.

2010 ALS Gold Medal - shortlisted
25 Mar 2011

Gravel by Peter Goldsworthy has been shortlisted for the 2010 ALS Gold Medal, awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year.

Here's what the judges had to say about Gravel:

These distinctive and perfectly crafted exercises in the short story form work as well individually as they do as a collection, and linger in the reader’s mind. Gravel reveals Goldsworthy as a master of the telling situation, teasing out provocative narratives – exploring such themes as vanity, obsession and compassion – to provide powerful and unsettling insights into the human psyche, relationships and contemporary Australian life.

Further information on the ASAL website.

The Power of One Australian Hero Award - shortlist
25 Mar 2011

Celebrating people who are dedicated to helping others in our community

The Power of One Australian Hero Award rewards and recognises one special person whose commitment to the greater good is an inspiration to those around them. A prize of $50,000 will be presented by Bryce Courtenay to the winner of The Power of One Australian Hero Award to assist that person to continue their work in the community. This annual award is a joint initiative between Bryce Courtenay and Penguin Books Australia.

The following people have been shortlisted for The Power of One Australian Hero Award:

Sean Nash

Tamara Bligh

Tina Paterson

Carol Cooke

Brian Cox

Andrew Hughes

Sean Willmore

Geoff Cohn

Mary Victor O’Reeri

Gulghotai Bezhan

2010 Aurealis Awards finalists announced
22 Mar 2011

SpecFaction NSW, organisers of the 2010 Aurealis Awards, have announced the finalists for the 2010 Aurealis Awards including the following Penguin titles:

CHILDREN'S FICTION (told primarily through words)
Haggis MacGregor and the Night of the Skull Moon, Jen Storer & Gus Gordon, Aussie Nibbles (Penguin)

CHILDREN'S FICTION (told primarily through pictures)
Night School, Isobelle Carmody (writer) & Anne Spudvilas (illustrator), Penguin Viking
The Boy and the Toy, Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator), Penguin Viking

The Midnight Zoo, Sonya Hartnett, Penguin
The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher, Doug MacLeod, Penguin
Behemoth (Leviathan Trilogy Book Two), Scott Westerfeld, Penguin

The winners of the 2010 Aurealis Awards and the Peter McNamara Award will be announced at the Aurealis Awards ceremony on 21 May.
More information is available at

2011 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Shortlist Announced
17 Mar 2011

The shortlist for the 2011 Premier's Literary Awards has been announced and includes these following Penguin titles:

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

Parrot & Olivier in America by Peter Carey

The Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction ($40,000)

Tell Me The Truth: Conversations With My Patients About Life And Death by Ranjana Srivastava

Reading by Moonlight: How Books Saved A Life by Brenda Walker

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($30,000)

Saltwater Vampires by Kirsty Eager

The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

The Three Loves of Persimmon by Cassandra Golds

The 2011 People’s Choice Award: Register your vote here

Parrot & Olivier in America by Peter Carey

For more information see

2011 Orange Prize for Fiction Longlist Announced
17 Mar 2011

The Orange Prize for Fiction, the UK's only annual book award for fiction written by a woman has announced the 2011 longlist. Celebrating its sixteenth anniversary this year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing throughout the world.

The Longlist for the Orange Prize for Fiction has been announced and includes two Viking titles: 

Great House by Nicole Krauss

The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer  

The Orange Prize for Fiction Shortlist announcement will be announced on 12 April, and the winner announced at a ceremony on 8 June.

For more information see


{ view all }
23 Nov 2015
2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards Shortlists Announced
Congratulations to the following Penguin Random House authors who have been shortlisted for the 2015 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.FictionAMNESIA, Peter Carey (Penguin Books Australia)GOLDEN BOYS, Sonya Hartnett (Penguin Books Australia)

Social Feed

{ }

Penguin TV

{ }


{ }