> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 March 2010
  • ISBN: 9780552160513
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $24.99

The Maddest Idea

An enthralling and swashbuckling naval adventure you won’t be able to put down…




A powerful saga of the American Revolution - a stirring maritime adventure in the epic, true-to-life tradition of Patrick O'Brian.

A captivating and stirring maritime adventure from bestselling author James Nelson that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester. "Kept me riveted from start to finish..." - ***** Reader review. "Fast paced and hard to put down" -- ***** Reader review'A fine adventure series...first-rate action writing' -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY***********************************************THERE'S A TRAITOR IN THEIR RANKS DETERMINED TO THWART THEIR FIGHT FOR FREEDOM...1775: General George Washing has discovered his store of gunpowder has dwindled to next to nothing. Captain Isaac Biddlecomb is despatched to Bermuda to capture the British gunpowder known to be there. But the plan is a trap, hatched by a traitor among the Patriots. Washington's aide-de-camp Major Edward Fitzgerald is tasked with hunting the traitor down; Biddlecomb meanwhile must work to free his ship and his men and capture the gunpowder so vital in the fight for freedom.

Will Biddlecomb and Fitzgerald overcome their common enemy - the greatest military power on Earth?The Maddest Idea is the second novel inJames Nelson's Revolution at Sea series.Biddlecomb's story continues in The Continental Risque. Have you read By Force of Arms, his first adventure?

  • Published: 15 March 2010
  • ISBN: 9780552160513
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $24.99

About the author

James Nelson

James Nelson has served as a seaman, rigger, boatswain and officer on a number of sailing vessels. His novel Glory in the Name: A Novel of the Confederate Navy was the winner of the American Library Association's 2004 W.Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction. He is also the author of the five books comprising The Revolution at SeaSaga and The Brethren of the Coast trilogy. His first non-fiction book is Reign of Iron: The Story of the First Battling Ironclads, the Monitor and the Merrimack. He lives with his wife and children in Maine.

His web site can be found at: www.jameslnelson.com

Also by James Nelson

See all

Praise for The Maddest Idea

'First rate action writing'

Publishers Weekly

'Authenticity runs throughout the book, carrying total conviction'

Patrick O'Brian

Related titles